Irish Stew

wholesome!

wholesome!

It seems odd that I haven’t posted an Irish Stew recipe yet. When I was little it was in Mum’s weekly meal rotation and one of the few things I ate without complaining.

(yes, I was that child. Sorry Ma)

the best cure for homesickness I know

the best cure for homesickness I know

Although it’s summer in the Caribbean, I’m dreaming of a blustery Irish winter where the wind smells of the Atlantic and the freezing rain cuts right through your coat.

And for weather like that, you need a stew like this.

Tender lamb, a meaty broth and soft root veggies. It’s filling, nutritious and (most importantly) tastes of home.

Irish Stew (serves 3-4)

  • 1 lb lamb neck or shoulder, diced
  • 2 medium yellow potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 4 carrots, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 1 white onion, finely chopped
  • 2 tsps fresh thyme
  • 1 bouquet garni
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 3 1/2 cups Lamb or chicken broth
  1. Melt the butter in a large saucepan over a medium heat. Add the onions and cook until coloured. Turn the heat up and add the lamb, sear until browned on all sides then turn the heat down again to medium.
  2. Add the broth, thyme and bouquet garni. Let simmer gently for 30 minutes. Add the carrots and potatoes and simmer for a further 20 minutes until soft. Season if required then serve.

Like this? You might also like:

 

8 thoughts on “Irish Stew

  1. Pingback: Slow Cooker Beef Ragu | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Spicy Sausage & Cauliflower Casserole | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Smoky Slow Cooker Gumbo | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Crockpot African Lamb & Peanut Stew | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a comment