Tandoori Pork Skewers

warning: only serve to kids if they can be trusted not to stab each other with skewers

warning: only serve to kids if they can be trusted not to stab each other with skewers

There comes a time in everyone’s life when they have to acknowledge that meat on a stick is awesome.

I came to this revelation late, thanks to years of vegetarianism and food snobbery.

spices + yoghurt = taste sensation

spices + yoghurt = taste sensation

Nowadays though, I heartily embrace sticking a skewer through your meat and gnawing on it like an animal.

Dog approved of this meal. He showed his approval by sidling up to us while we were eating and moaning long and loudly, like a cow caught in a snare.

slathering it onto the pork

slathering it onto the pork

If you’ve ever tried eating against the background of constant wailing (either from pets or tiny humans) you’ll understand when I say that one of the skewers nearly ended up jammed in my ears just to Make. It. Stop.

Any tips for quieting an inconsolable dog gratefully received*

unleash your inner cave(wo)man!

unleash your inner cave(wo)man!

*I should add that he is extremely well-trained but he’s on medication that makes him constantly hungry so really cannot help himself. Poor beast is tortured.

Tandoori Pork Skewers (serves 2)

  • 113g pork tenderloin, cut into cubes
  • 4 bamboo skewers
  • 1/3 cup plain, full-fat yoghurt
  • 1/2 tsp tumeric
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  1. Mix the yoghurt, garlic, turmeric, salt, paprika and cayenne together.
  2. Add the pork to the yoghurt mixture, stirring until thoroughly coated. Let marinate for 15 minutes.
  3. Remove and pierce cubes with skewer, making sure they are spaced eventually apart. Place under the broiler/grill for 15 minutes, turning halfway through.

Like this? You might also like:

17 thoughts on “Tandoori Pork Skewers

  1. meet on a stick is the best… in fact, if can get it on a stick, any food will taste better! bananas, prawns, peppers, blueberries, scorpions, mushrooms. great recipe, I’ll be trying this one, thanks 🙂

  2. I totally agree! I have been wanting to make some sort of meat skewer that I could bake in the oven forever now! I think I’m just going to bite the bullet and try it. This looks like a really amazing variety to try!

  3. Skewer Power! I made an almost identical dish on Friday, but used lamb instead. I could never be a vegetarian. I do love my small bites of luscious beef, lamb, chicken, turkey, fish…..

  4. Pingback: Cordon Bleu Pork Chops | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Spiced Lamb Skewers | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a comment