Kale and Cabbage Bake

I resisted the temptation to double up on the cheese, it was tough though

It’s been a while since I cooked a vegetarian meal. In fact, it’s been a while since I cooked anything.

Only recently getting back from holiday will do that to you.

Yep, it’s been a joy to get back in my kitchen and finally eat meals where I know exactly what’s in them (which is not to say that we didn’t eat in a lot of nice restaurants while away. We did, and that’s a whole other blog post coming soon).

I love me a crispy cheese crust

So after all those meals eaten in restaurants, I’m very keen to cook super nutritious stuff this week.

Which brings me to this vegetable bake.

anything that looks like this has to be good for you

With oodles of kale and cabbage, hubs and I will be on the road to health in no time.

delicately patting in the kale

This casserole can be made before time and heated up or served cold with salad. I even intend to eat it for lunch for the next few days (it’ll be a cold day in hell before I eat anything that’s not homemade this week).

begging for more cheese, just begging

Yep, restaurant fatigue. I has it.

Kale and Cabbage Bake (serves six)

*Adapted from the NY Times

  • 3 large leaves of curly kale, shredded
  • 1/2 green cabbage, shredded
  • 2 large cloves garlic
  • 1/2 yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup short grain white rice, cooked
  • 2 tsbps butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 tsp sage
  • 4oz/ 1 cup grated mozzarella cheese
  1. Heat the butter in a large saucepan over a medium heat. Add the onion, garlic, thyme and sage. Saute for a few minutes before adding the kale.
  2. Put the lid on the pan and leave for 2 mins until the kale wilts. Remove kale from pot and set aside.
  3. Add cabbage to the saucepan and a cup of water. Put the lid back on for 1o minutes while the cabbage steams and turns tender, then turn off the heat and let it cool.
  4. In a bowl whisk together the eggs and half of the cheese. Stir in the rice, kale and cabbage.
  5. Pour the mixture into a large casserole dish and sprinkle the remaining cheese on top.
  6. Bake at 400 for 35-40 minutes.

Like this? You might also like:

This post also appeared on the Healthy Home Economist’s Monday Mania

32 thoughts on “Kale and Cabbage Bake

  1. I can’t get kale here! Waaaah! I will try this when I go visit my mom in Miami in August, and teach her how to make it too, I am sure she’ll love it. I think I will have restaurant fatigue soon too…my vacations are looming! Looks so yummy!

  2. My wife & I are currently travelling, but we’ll give this a try when we get home in a few days. I think we’ll try substituting “riced” cauliflower for the traditional rice.

  3. Pingback: Red Onion Potato Gratin « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Julia’s Sweet and Sour Red Cabbage | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Thanksgiving Recipe Round-Up | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Spinach, Kale & Garlic Dip | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Kale with Bacon & Sour Cream | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Rainbow Chard with Almonds & Garlic | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Garlicky Red Cabbage with Bacon | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Broccoli & Cauliflower Cheese Bake | Things My Belly Likes

  11. This looks GREAT. Thank you!
    I just googled “cabbage kale baked”….and your page came up.
    I’m going to make this as our side dish tonight.

  12. Considering trying this, looks delicious! Once the kale is shredded, about how many cups do you think it makes? I have some pre-shredded kale in my fridge and not really sure how much to use.

    • Hi Amanda. I find Kale shrinks a lot as it cooks so go big! One leaf usually equals about one cup shredded for me so I’d try 3 cups and then add it to the cabbage and put it into your casserole dish to get an idea of whether it’s enough. Hope that helps, happy eating!

      • Thanks for the input! I actually made it last night, doubled the recipe and probably used about 6 cups of kale total, so I think you are spot on with the amount of kale. I also added some sauteed veggie sausage to bulk it up, added sriracha & 1 tsp salt to the egg mixture, and subbed riced cauliflower for the rice. Otherwise stuck to the recipe, and it turned out sooooo good. This is my first attempt ever at a cabbage casserole and usually I try out several recipes when making something new before I find the “right” one, but seriously. There is no going back from this one. My husband loved it as well. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

  13. Pingback: A St Patrick’s Day Feast (Guinness Chocolate Cake, Dublin Coddle, Colcannon and more!) | Things My Belly Likes

  14. Pingback: Curried Cabbage Chips | Things My Belly Likes

  15. Pingback: Fennel & Kale Skillet | Things My Belly Likes

  16. Pingback: Leek & Garlic Mashed Potato Gratin | Things My Belly Likes

  17. Pingback: Red Onion & Cheddar Cheese Parsnip Gratin | Things My Belly Likes

  18. Pingback: Roasted Cabbage Wedges with Parmesan | Things My Belly Likes

  19. Pingback: Spicy Sausage & Cauliflower Casserole | Things My Belly Likes

  20. Pingback: Spiced Kale Chips | Things My Belly Likes

  21. Pingback: Gingery Pan-Fried Kale | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

