Brown Sugar Lemon Curd

yes, it’s a dull brown colour but trust me, it’s just as sweet, tangy and good

Most people go for white sugar in their curd recipes. Not me.

I’m something of a culinary rebel in this area. Heck, I haven’t bought white sugar since the nineties.

I wouldn’t advise eating it by the spoonful. That way lies diabetes

Instead I went for coconut palm sugar. It’s golden brown, low on the glycemic index (ha! I say that like I know what it means!) and unrefined so you know there’s a chance of getting some nutrients with all that sweetness.

Feel free to sub in brown sugar (or even date sugar) if you’re not au fait with the coconut stuff.

grating lemons is a spectacularly thankless task

You lose the sunshine-yellow colour of ‘normal’ lemon curd but you gain a rich, subtle toffee flavour.

And, if you can, I’d advise you to go with organic lemons.

The non-organic kind are usually covered in that gross edible wax stuff they use to preserve shelf life.

brown sugar…meet lemon zest

If I wanted to chew on wax, I’d eat candles.

Simple Lemon Curd (makes about a cup)

*adapted from Ina Garten

  • 2 lemons
  • 2 tbsps coconut palm sugar (or unrefined brown sugar)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 1/2 tbsps butter
  • juice of 2 lemons
  1. Grate the lemons and mix the zest with the sugar. Set aside.
  2. Using an electric whisk, cream the butter. Add the sugar and zest mixture and whisk until thoroughly combined.
  3. Add the eggs, one at a time, then the lemon juice.
  4. Pour the mixture into a saucepan (don’t worry if it’s lumpy and runny) and heat over a low heat, whisking constantly, until it thickens. Unfortunately this takes patience, it took ten minutes before mine was at the nicely gooey stage.
  5. Let cool. Once cool, stir once and keep in the fridge until needed. It will solidify further in the fridge to the consistency of a thick sauce.

Like this? You might also like:

This post also appeared at Fight Back Friday

11 thoughts on “Brown Sugar Lemon Curd

    • Spread it on crackers or toast, add a dollop to some plain yoghurt for an easy dessert, eat as a topping for ice cream or use it in baking (for lemon cakes etc). I also have a great lemon curd brownie recipe coming up later in the week.

  1. Pingback: Lemon Curd Brownies | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a comment