Sour Cream & Garlic Potato Salad

those are potatoes, looking furtive in the background

If you’re a member of the Primal/Paleo community and familiar with my blog, you’re probably thinking: “potatoes? WTF?” about now.

As I understand it, potatoes are shunned by that dietary group because they’re too starchy and too carby. I’m sure there’s a technical explanation…something to do with their effect on blood sugar or insulin or something.

God, I love potatoes

Whatever, I’m Irish and giving up potatoes is non-negotiable for me.

You’ll have to prise them from my cold, dead hands (we’ll gloss over why I’d be clutching potatoes as I died).

eggs and potatoes…weird combo but it so works

Here I’ve gone for a classic but added a twist by bulking up the garlic and using sour cream on a 1:1 ratio with mayo.

There’s also some chives in there so you can almost pretend it’s a balanced meal in itself.

see? there’s green stuff too!

Sour Cream & Garlic Potato Salad (serves 6-8)

  • 7 large eggs, hard-boiled, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 6 medium yellow potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 4 tsps finely chopped chives
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsps sour cream
  • 2 tbsps mayo
  • 1/2 tbsp mustard
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Boil the potatoes for 10-15 mins ’til firm (mine took 10 minutes but I chopped them very small). Drain, season and let cool.
  2. Stir together the mayo, garlic, mustard, lemon juice and sour cream.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, stir together the egg, chives and cooled potatoes. Gently mix in the mayo goo and stir until everything clumps together.
  4. Season to taste and put in the fridge to chill.

Like this? You might also like:

6 thoughts on “Sour Cream & Garlic Potato Salad

  1. Pingback: Honey Walnut Chicken Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Patatas Bravas | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

