Avocado Egg Salad

apologies for the unappetising pic - I was trying to get the shot, eat the food, answer the phone and talk to Hubs all at once

apologies for the unappetising pic – I was trying to get the shot, eat the food, answer the phone and talk to Hubs all at once

I’ve been hearing for a while that mashed avocado is a good substitute for mayo, but I never quite believed it (an April Fool’s perhaps?!).

There are some mayo-based dishes that are classics and would be ruined with such blasphemy.

Or so I thought….until I ran out of mayo.

With a bunch of hard-boiled eggs peeled and glistening at me, and a very ripe avocado begging to be used up, I took the plunge.

This is not your mother’s egg salad. This isn’t even a picnic egg salad. It’s something different and, dare I say, better.

Now that I know the taste doesn’t suffer, swopping out mayo for a healthy superfood like avocado seems like a no-brainer. You’ve protein, you’ve fats, you’ve antioxidants…what’s not to love?

Avocado Egg Salad (makes a cup)

  • 3 large eggs, hard-boiled and peeled
  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 1 spring (green) onion, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsps finely chopped cilantro
  • 2 tsps lime juice
  • sea salt and black pepper
  1. Mash the avocado to a creamy puree then stir in the onion, cilantro and lime juice. Chop in the eggs, season well and stir until everything is combined.
  2. Store in the fridge for up to 3 days.

Like this? You might also like:

 

2 thoughts on “Avocado Egg Salad

  1. Pingback: Egg & Alfalfa Salad | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

