Citrus Chickpea Salad

fun fact: chickpeas are rich in folate

fun fact: chickpeas are rich in folate

It was jump rope day at the gym yesterday and I’m proud to report that I managed 500 skips (jumps) before collapsing in a sweaty, stinking heap.

And for those of you thinking that’s not an impressive stat, I challenge you to get up from the computer and go replicate it.

Not so dismissive now, eh?

All of which is to say that after a workout like that one, I needed a high protein snack.

For some reason, my belly doesn’t do well with meat after the gym so I tend to go for veggie protein sources like chickpeas.

This is a great salad for making in bulk and keeping handy in the fridge. Then you can snack on it to your heart’s content – with or without the gruelling jump rope marathon beforehand.

Citrus Chickpea Salad (serves 3-4)

  • 2 cups cooked chickpeas
  • 2 tbsps extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 tbsps fresh orange juice
  • 1 tbsps lime juice
  • 1/4 cup roasted sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1 green onion, finely sliced
  • 2 tbsps chopped cilantro
  • a pinch of salt
  1. Whisk together the oil, orange juice, lime juice, cumin, ginger, salt and cilantro.
  2. Stir in the onion then add the chickpeas and sunflower seeds. Toss to make sure everything is well-combined. Store in the fridge.
4 thoughts on “Citrus Chickpea Salad

  1. I shouldn’t,… but I’m going to have to have some of this amazing sounding salad! Those pesky lectins are hard for me to digest, but I’m thinking I can’t live without this salad… perfect for a spring time luncheon. Thank you… as always, your posts never disappoint!

Leave a Reply

