Sweet Ginger Tea

soothing

soothing

Sometimes the best ways to comfort someone are the simplest.

Like bringing them a steaming mug of tea when they need a break, or just a chance to sit down and talk.

We drank a lot of tea last week, but I’m pleased to report that the immediate crisis has passed and we’re all slowly getting back to normal (thanks for your lovely kind words of support!)

great for the digestion, as well as the soul

great for the digestion, as well as the soul

In light of the restorative power of tea, and the many cups I’ve had this week, it seemed a good time to share this recipe with you.

I actually created it for my ma-in-law who is addicted to the ginger tea they serve at her local Asian restaurant. I was trying to get that reviving combo of spicy and sweet just right…and I think I nailed it.

The key here is using frozen ginger. I bought it fresh from the supermarket, peeled it and then froze it for a few hours until hard. Obviously, this is a lot of trouble to go to for tea but I highly recommend storing your ginger in the freezer for everything – in my experience it’s much easier to grate that way.

Sweet Ginger Tea (makes 1 1/2 cups)

  • 1 tbsp peeled, frozen and then grated ginger
  • 1 tsp raw honey
  • 1 1/2 cups boiling water
  • 1/2 tsp lemon zest
  1. In a small saucepan, pour the boiling water over the ginger and lemon zest. Cover and let steep for 5-10 minutes.
  2. Strain, then stir in the honey and serve.

Like this? You might also like:

 

One thought on “Sweet Ginger Tea

Leave a Reply

