Fear and loathing in the doctor’s office

not all doctors are nutrition-blind, just most

not all doctors are nutrition-blind, just most

As I type this, some lab boffins are beavering away on deciphering my blood.

My doctor drew a few vials of the stuff yesterday for my annual blood test (and hormone test – eek!) but I’m not worried.

If last year is anything to go by, he’ll bring out his best talking-to-a-dim-witted-child voice to tell me my cholesterol is too high.

Then he’ll smile condescendingly and advise me to stop eating eggs and seafood.

Then I’ll tell him that total cholesterol numbers are meaningless without a full breakdown of HDL, LDL and triglycerides; that the really important number to watch is the ratio of the former to the latter and that the cholesterol we eat actually doesn’t have much to do with the cholesterol measured in blood.

So, in short, he’ll tell me a lot of nonsense, I’ll give him some learning and we’ll go our separate ways. It’s what we do.

NB: If you are concerned about cholesterol and want to read more, I strongly recommend the following links. I’d never ever encourage anyone to either go on or come off statins (I have zero medical or nutritional training, I’m not even that good at biology) but I do urge you to do your own research and, if you are anxious/curious about anything please don’t be afraid to challenge your doctor. If he dismisses your concerns, find another physician.

3 thoughts on “Fear and loathing in the doctor’s office

  1. Amen. I always try to schedule these things when I’m feeling my best, because really, it takes so much energy to ‘train’ a new doctor. However could you manage it while sick. Stick to your guns and trust your knowledge and your knowing of you.

    • Thanks Chris. You’re right, sometimes I can’t be bothered with the fight so I just sigh and nod so I can get out of there quicker….but I know I should be more vigilant about spreading the word!

Leave a Reply

