Spicy Sausage & Cauliflower Casserole

don't be afraid to get crazy with the cheese

don’t be afraid to get crazy with the cheese

My sister sent me a photo of her cat curled up by her blazing fire, captioned “trying to get warm!” and just for a moment, for the barest second, I missed winter.

It’s madness of course. Winter is a big part of why I moved to this idyllic Caribbean island but every so often I want to wake up to perfectly white snow, sip mugs of hot cocoa, see frost on the window panes and breathe lungfuls of sharp, crispy, invigorating air.

have you tried my turmeric cauli-rice yet?

have you tried my turmeric cauli-rice yet?

When those moments hit, I cook winter food. Soups, stews, anything with potatoes and casseroles.

Then I go sit in the sunshine and give myself a mental slap.

Spicy Sausage & Cauliflower Casserole (serves 4)

*adapted from The Kitchn

  • 4 cooked spicy italian sausages
  • 1/2 large, white onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 large head of cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 1 15 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 1 cup grated parmesan
  1. Steam the cauliflower florets for 3 minutes until just starting to soften. Set aside.
  2. Melt the butter in a large frying pan then add the garlic, onion and thyme. Cook for a few minutes until the onion colours.
  3. Roughly chop the sausages and add to the pan. Saute until brown then pour in the tomatoes and season well.
  4. Stir the cauliflower into the mix and then spoon everything into a casserole dish.
  5. Liberally cover with the parmesan and bake at 375 for 25 minutes.

Like this? You might also like:

6 thoughts on “Spicy Sausage & Cauliflower Casserole

  1. Pingback: Spicy Sausage & Cauliflower Casserole | rosemondemarchand.wordpress.com gratuit

  2. I’m always jealous when you mention you live on a wonderful Caribbean island! Trust me, you don’t miss the cold and snow ;). Do you have a post or could you talk briefly about how you ended up there? I’m always so curious… I’d like to up and move to the Caribbean 😀

    • For me it was pure, dumb luck 🙂 I was living in the UK and eager to relocate, I kept an eye on the job postings in one of the national papers and an advert showed up for my current job. I was very lucky that they were willing to take a chance on an expat. Best advice I can give is to comb the job sites online because you never know what will show up jobsabroad.com is a good place to start!

Leave a Reply

