Garlic Squash Noodles

not at all like the real thing, but a pleasant substitute

not at all like the real thing, but a pleasant substitute

If you’re a grain-free family, squash noodles are a handy thing to have in your repetoire.

But I’m not going to lie – you really need a julienne slicer to do them justice. I laboured away with a vegetable peeler and it was tough.

I wept, I cursed, I raged

I wept, I cursed, I raged

They came out fine in the end but I’m just saying – for more noodle-shaped noodles and much less agony, go into this with the proper equipment.

Garlic Squash Noodles (serves 2)

  • 1 small summer squash
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsps butter
  • sea salt & black pepper
  1. Cut the squash in half and scoop out the seeds and stringy centre. Peel the skin away then using your julienne (or veg peeler) peel long thin strips off the remaining flesh into a bowl.
  2. Sprinkle salt over the squash to draw out any moisture, stir, let sit for 5 minutes then rinse well and pat dry.
  3. Heat the butter in a wide frying pan. Add the garlic, followed by the noodles.
  4. Cook gently over a medium-low heat for 2-3 minutes, stirring occasionally to make sure all the noodles are coated with the garlic butter. When the noodles are tender, season and serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

Leave a Reply

