Drooling into my Keyboard (reviewing The Essential Paleo Cookbook)

She's a beaut

all images courtesy paleomagazine.com

Sharp-eyed readers will notice that I’ve been sharing a few recipes from The Essential Paleo Cookbook recently (you can view ’em here and here).

That’s because Paleo Magazine‘s Louise and Jeremy (who are the brains behind TEPC) contacted me just before Christmas and asked if I’d help spread the word about their new book.

Louise & Jeremy - looking like a great advert for the paleo life

Louise & Jeremy – looking like a great advert for paleo living

I was glad to do so – not just because anyone advocating real food deserves a shout out but simply because this is a great, easy to use, practical book that I’d happily add to my own cookbook collection.

In their own words, Louise and Jeremy wrote TEPC: “for folks who are looking to build the foundations of a healthy diet….somebody who maybe isn’t familiar with cooking from scratch or avoiding things like grains, legumes and processed sugars.”

Screen shot 2015-01-14 at 9.43.56 AM

a sneak peek inside (ain’t she a beauty?!)

And for the newbie chef, there’s a ton of recipes to try whether serving up breakfast, entrees, desserts, sides or condiments. Recipes like Chicken and Apple Breakfast Sausages, Thai Lemongrass Shrimp Soup, Mu Shu Pork and Cinnamon Sugar Pretzel Bites (are you drooling yet?).

Also, Hubs will probably divorce me if I don’t make/mention the Slow Cooker Jerk Chicken.

this oregano liver raspberry pate might even tempt me to organ meats

this oregano liver raspberry pate might even sell me on organ meats

All the recipes are 100% Paleo as you’d expect, but they’re also categorised into ‘diabetic’, ‘kid-friendly’ and ‘compliant with the autoimmune protocol’ to help you navigate through the book.

Even as a seasoned cook, I loved the simplicity of these recipes. These guys understand that you don’t need to get fancy in the kitchen to put together an impressive (and nutritious!) meal.

double chocolate coconut ice cream...need I say more?

double chocolate coconut ice cream…need I say more?

For me, the best thing about TEPC how true it is to the Paleo lifestyle…and I mean that in the sense that these recipes aren’t just paleo-ising (is that a word? It is now!) the standard American diet. Going Paleo isn’t just about swopping white flour for almond flour, it’s about breaking that reliance on baked goods and finding new ways to eat.

Louise and Jeremy get that. And, with this excellent book, they’re helping others get that too.

You can pick up an electronic copy of The Essential Paleo Cookbook here, get a paperback version here or just drop by Louise & Jeremy’s website The Paleo Magazine here.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

