Happy (almost) 2015!

this year, we're opting out

don’t do this. Please

Opinion is divided in our house.

Hubs thinks New Years is an overrated, over-hyped, over-wrought holiday.

I disagree.

I believe that life is precious and any occasion that involves celebration should be grabbed with both hands, so I go a bit crazy for all holidays (except one)

Usually, my philosophy prevails (Hubs is good like that, easygoing to a fault) and we go out carousing to ring in the New Year.

This year we’re taking it at his speed. It’ll just be us, our sofa, some wine and an early night.

But that’s okay. The older I get, the more I realise that moments don’t have to be loud to be worth celebrating.

Happy New Year folks. Since ushering in a new year puts me in a thoughtful mood I’ll leave you with this beautiful quote. See you on the other side!

For last year’s words belong to last year’s language and next year’s words await another voice – TS Eliot

8 thoughts on “Happy (almost) 2015!

  1. We’re rather like that here at Tribble Towers too; the hubby prefers to stay in and I like to go out for a couple of hours because it’s new year and that’s when nice people talk to you and – even if only for this one night – you have someone new to count as a friend.

    However, I’m getting older too, and back in the summer I almost died. I shouldn’t actually be alive to type this (they are genuinely beginning to believe that I must be immortal – no joke) but here I am.

    Just in case I’m not really going to live forever though, I’ve chosen a quiet night. We’ll watch Jools Holland if we’re not already asleep and watch fireworks that aren’t ours, and tomorrow I intend to make the first loaf of bread of 2015.

    Wishing you and yours a wonderful year to come!

    • Hi Gemma, congrats on not dying (such a weird thing to type). I bet that kind of thing really makes you appreciate your blessings. I hope 2015 brings you renewed health and happiness. A night in with the guy you love and Jools Holland sounds pretty perfect to me – enjoy 🙂

      • I really do feel blessed Cat; I couldn’t describe the entire experience if I wanted to, but being alive definitely works for me!

        It’s only very recently that I regained sufficient strength to be up and about all day, and I’m really enjoying baking now that I’ve rediscovered it again! 🙂

  2. We are going to keep it quiet this year. Normally, we do a bit more …. but I am excited about our champange and wine n cheese evening …. alllllllll alone. yea me!

  3. Thank you for sharing your New Year’s Eve plans with everyone. Your advice and recipies have been so helpfull to my husband who suffered from ibs. He is doing wonderful compared to when he atd gluten. Happy New Year to you and yours. Pam Kitchen

    • Thank you Pam! It’s lovely comments like yours that keep me motivated to cook and post every day 🙂 So glad your hubs is feeling better – it’s amazing what a difference avoiding gluten can make, eh?! Happy new year 🙂 Cat.

Leave a Reply

