Roast Chestnuts

chetsnuts, I love you

chestnuts: one of the best things about winter

After extensive testing and research in the name of scientific inquiry, I have determined that there definitely is a right way and a wrong way to roast chestnuts.

Wrong way: forget to cut the hard shells before putting them into the oven causing a minor (but terrifying) explosion.

Right way: let them steam in a shallow water bath as they roast so the inner ‘furry’ skin is easier to peel off.

I can quit them anytime I want....I CAN!

yeah, the peeling can be a bit of an arse, but it’s worth it. So worth it

In my happy years of chestnut-guzzling, I’ve also found that there’s a knack to picking them. You want a chestnut that’s hard to the touch and not discoloured or cracked. These guys are delicate and very perishable so they tend to mould if kept in a bin at the supermarket for days on end.

When you get them home, store them in the fridge until you’re ready to roast and don’t let them get damp.

Roast Chestnuts

  • chestnuts
  • sea salt
  1. Using a sharp knife because the outer shell is tough, score a deep ‘X’ into each nut.
  2. Place them (cut side down) on a baking tray filled with water about half an inch deep.
  3. Roast at 420 for 30 minutes. Remove from tray and gently peel off the shell and inner skin (it’s easier to do this while they’re hot, but be careful of burning your fingers).
  4. Eat with a little sea salt or store in the fridge where they’ll keep for about up to two days.

Like this? You might also like:

3 thoughts on “Roast Chestnuts

  1. oh yes, I know those criss-crosses very well!! but I didn’t know about putting them cut side down. that makes sense so that they can absorb the water. other than that, this is exactly how I roast them. oh, yum!!

    • The upside down trick is one I learnt recently. I used to forego the water but it’s WAY easier to remove the inner skins when you do the water bath thing. Thankfully I love chestnuts so much that the trial and error was not a burden 🙂

Leave a Reply

