Carolina Style Drumsticks

serve with a ranch-style dip for extra yum

serve with a ranch-style dip for extra yum

We eat a lot of chicken parts in our house (and don’t even get me started on what I throw into our bone broth, it’s the stuff of nightmares).

But eating endless Buffalo Wings gets old…despite what Hubs would say.

So when I saw a recipe for ‘Carolina Style’ wings/drumsticks in Real Life Paleo – the gorgeous new book from Paleo Parents (which I’ll be reviewing next week) – I was intrigued and delighted.

the zesty sauce

the zesty sauce

For a start, I had no idea there was such a thing as ‘Carolina Style’. If you are from Carolina or live there, please enlighten me. Is this really a thing?

And how does one get a style? If I were to invent a new sauce for wings while in my hometown of Belfast, would they be ‘Belfast Style’ Wings?

Actually, that sounds kinda cool….

Carolina Style Drumsticks (makes 6)

*adapted slightly from Real Life Paleo

  • 6 chicken drumsticks
  • 2 tbsps butter or ghee, melted
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tbsp chilli powder
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tsps yellow mustard
  1. Pat the drumsticks dry and season well with salt and pepper. Roast at 400 for an hour until brown and crispy.
  2. While the drumsticks are cooking, whisk together the remaining ingredients.
  3. Remove the chicken from the oven, toss in the sauce and serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

 

4 thoughts on “Carolina Style Drumsticks

  1. Pingback: Mint & Cumin Dip | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Perfect Crispy Chicken Thighs | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

