Crispy Duck Fat Fries

Hubs asked for seconds...this pleased me

Hubs asked for seconds…this pleased me because I am a feeder

So I did it.

I went one step further after the resounding success of roasting potatoes in goose fat…a further step into madness.

This time around I made fries (or chips as we call them at home, but I don’t want to confuse anybody). Glorious, crispy fries.

not pictured - me yelping and trying to stay out of spattering range

not pictured – me yelping and trying to stay out of spattering range

Duck fat is a great fat for these things because of it’s high smoke point. It’s stable at high heats so it won’t break down and become one of those horrible, rancid, disease-causing fats that no-one likes.

(let’s all pause here for a judgemental side-eye at vegetable oil).

It also makes very crispy potatoes, that thankfully don’t taste of duck.

Duck Fat Fries (serves 2-3)

  •  1 cup duck fat
  • 3 medium yellow potatoes
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 1 tbsp white vinegar
  • salt & pepper to serve
  1. Scrub clean the potatoes then slide into thin batons. Transfer to a bowl and fill with water until just covered. Add a tbsp of salt and the white vinegar. Let sit at room temp for at least 30 minutes – this will draw out moisture and make for crispier fries.
  2. Drain the potatoes and thoroughly dry. The drier they are at this point, the crispier your fries. I swaddled them in kitchen roll to absorb any excess moisture.
  3. Add the fat to a deep frying pan and melt over a high heat. Once it starts to smoke (carefully!) add the potatoes. Place them in the pan in a single layer (I did mine in two batches) so they are all fairly well submerged in the fat.
  4. Fry for around 10 minutes or until browned on all sides. Serve.

Like this? You might also like:

 

 

5 thoughts on “Crispy Duck Fat Fries

  1. Pingback: Moroccan-Spiced Plantain Fries | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Cheesy Sweet Potato Fritters | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

