Crushed Potatoes with Goose Fat & Thyme

goose fat can withstand a very high heat - which makes it the perfect choice for crispier roasties

goose fat can withstand a very high heat – which makes it the perfect choice for crispier roasties

Remember that scene in Sleepless in Seattle when a grieving Tom Hanks is reminscing about his dead wife and the way she could “peel an apple, in one long strip.”

(or perhaps you don’t. Perhaps you are not as familiar with classic 80s romcoms as I am)

Well I always think of that when peeling potatoes – because my granny could peel a spud in one long strip.

Yeah, my version isn’t quite as romantic but Granny had a way with potatoes and I doubt I’ll ever eat one without thinking of her.

Which is a good thing because our family matriarch was quite the woman.

batter the spuds a bit...but make sure they retain their shape

batter the spuds a bit…but make sure they retain their shape

Sadly she’s now in the cruel grip of dementia and isn’t peeling anything any more but all the things she taught me in her tiny, Irish kitchen live on and often when I’m cooking I’ll hear her voice in my head, clear as a bell and reminiscent of a better time.

Crushed Potatoes with Goose Fat & Thyme (serves 2)

*from Nigel Slater

  • 3 small russet potatoes, peeled and chopped into large chunks
  • 4 tbsps goose fat
  • 1 tbsp thyme leaves
  • 1/2┬átsp sea salt
  1. Place the potatoes in boiling water and simmer for 15 minutes until tender.
  2. Drain and crush very gently with a fork or spoon to fluff up the flesh.
  3. Put the fat in a baking dish and let sit in the oven as it heats to 400. Once the fat is hot, remove from the oven and immediately (but carefully!) add the potatoes, turning each so the fat soaks in on all sides.
  4. Sprinkle with the thyme and sea salt and bake for 40 minutes until golden and crispy.

Like this? You might also like:

 

4 thoughts on “Crushed Potatoes with Goose Fat & Thyme

  1. Hey, Cat

    Nice one. Great story about your Granny. I have similar memories with my own Granny (rest her soul, she passed nearly two decades ago) – one of my favourite memories was of building – yes building – a roast meal with her. Bringing all the herbs together she said to me, “Steffan, remember that all good cooks can tell Thyme”. Was a pun that took me a while to catch on to!

    Anyway, if you want to turn this up to 12, use baby potatoes and leave the skins ON. Just make sure you give them a good wash to remove all the dirt. Do the same with the boil, and with the fork to break them open – without busting them all up. Leaving the skins on gives you the extra fibre boost (+1 nutriontionally) but also boosts the ‘potatoeiness’ flavour of the spuds.

    xo

    • Oooh my mouth is watering just thinking about it. Thanks for the tip, I’ll do it next time thyme I get some spuds (ha! I crack myself up)

  2. Pingback: Crispy Duck Fat Fries | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Spicy Sausage & Cauliflower Casserole | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

