Roasted Pumpkin & Cumin Soup

delicately flavoured, all kinds of yum

delicately flavoured, all kinds of yum

I think I’ve mentioned this before but pumpkins in my part of the Caribbean are a very different beast from the traditional orange US ones.

So much so that I had a very entertaining game of Guess The Veg with my mother over Skype at the weekend.

“What on earth is that?” She exclaimed as I brandished the green, oblong shaped squash at the camera on my laptop.

I like my soup thick and nourishing

I like my soup thick and nourishing

“A root vegetable?”

“Nope!”

“A squash?”

“Ooooh, warmer!”

it'd freeze well so don't be afraid to make a big batch

it’d freeze well so don’t be afraid to make a big batch

Eventually I had to put her out of her misery but even then she was skeptical and didn’t believe me until I sliced the thing open to reveal its tender orange flesh.

Next week I intend to surprise her with a breadfruit…I could keep this game going all year round.

Roasted Pumpkin & Cumin Soup (serves 4)

  • 1 sweet potato, peeled and diced
  • 1 small pumpkin, peeled and diced
  • 1 white onion, finely chopped
  • 4 cups chicken (or vegetable) stock
  • 2 tsps cumin seed, lightly toasted
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp thyme, plus extra for serving
  • salt & pepper
  1. Melt the butter in a large saucepan and add the garlic, onion and sweet potato. Gently fry over a medium heat until the onion colours.
  2. Add the thyme, cumin seed and stock. Bring to a boil then reduce the heat and let it simmer for 25 minutes or until the potato is tender.
  3. While the soup is bubbling, place the pumpkin wedges on a baking tray and bake at 400 for 20 minutes until they start to brown slightly. Remove from oven and wait until they are cool to the touch before peeling away the skin.
  4. Add the pumpkin flesh to the soup and stir to combine. Let simmer for a further 10 minutes then blend until smooth, season and serve with an extra sprinkling of thyme on top.

Like this? You might also like:

Leave a Reply

