Happy (Canadian) Thanksgiving!

Canadian-Graffiti

Ever since I married into the True North, I’ve been a keen devotee of all its strange ways and customs.

  • I know the protocol for if/when you’re confronted by a bear (or many bears…you can never be too prepared)
  • I’ve eaten, and enjoyed, poutine
  • I’ve attended a Blue Rodeo concert
  • I’ve cheered lustily at an ice hockey game (the Leafs versus the Florida Panthers if you’re interested. The Leafs lost. Go figure)
  • I’ve learnt how to wear six layers of clothing and still be comfortable
  • I can identify an east coast accent from a west coast accent

These are the true hallmarks of being a Canadian but there was one accomplishment remaining – cooking a Thanksgiving Dinner.

Today I’ve invited some friends over for a celebratory feast and will be thanking all the great things Canada has given me over the years – family, friends and many wonderful memories.

Cheers Canada! And Happy Thanksgiving to all readers north of the border.

hopefully all my food will be delicious - you can judge for yourself when I post it later this week

hopefully all my food will be delicious – you can judge for yourself when I post it later this week

 

 

9 thoughts on “Happy (Canadian) Thanksgiving!

  1. I’m stuffed to the gills with turkey. I’m sure you all enjoyed yours, too. We’re thankful to live in a country where food is readily available, we’re all at peace, and the flu shot is free at the drugstore just around the corner. Happy thanksgiving!

  2. Funny, there is graffiti where I park my car and it says “Your Soul is Beautiful”. I always park in that particular spot. Happy Thanksgiving from a fellow Canadian

Leave a Reply

