Seared Chicken Livers

if you are still using non-stick frying pans then give yourself a strict talking to, throw them away and go buy cast iron

if you are still using non-stick frying pans then give yourself a strict talking to, throw them away and go buy cast iron

If Superman’s Achille’s heel was kyrptonite and Achille’s Achille’s heel was…well…his heel, then my Achille’s heel is organ meats. Particularly liver.

In my defence, I used to a vegetarian and, for an ex-veggie, organs of any kind belong in the body not on a plate.

So the secret to getting liver in my belly (and everyone’s bellies need liver), is coating it in things I like.

Such as butter.

It has been scientifically proven beyond doubt (in my kitchen mostly) that butter makes all kinds of unpalatable things palatable.

Seared Chicken Livers (serves 2)

  • 2 large chicken livers
  • 1/2 small, white onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 tbsps butter (or other stable fat such as bacon fat/lard)
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  • 4-6 sprigs fresh thyme
  • wedge of lemon
  1. Heat the butter in a frying pan over a high heat. Add the garlic and onion and fry for 3 minutes until the onion softens.
  2. Add the livers to the pan and fry until browned on all sides (about 5 minutes). Sprinkle over the thyme and give everything a good stir to combine the flavours.
  3. Transfer to a plate and squeeze the lemon over the top. Eat immediately.

 Like this? You might also like:

3 thoughts on “Seared Chicken Livers

  1. I’m laughing to myself, you eat only one chicken liver??? I wish I could stop at just one!!! I fry mine after rolling them in tapioca flour to give them crunch. Sometimes, I add sliced mushrooms or onions, but mostly just plain. I eat three or four of them for lunch! Yum.

Leave a Reply

