It’s voting day in Scotland! Here are some recipes if (like me) you’re celebrating with a Scottish feast.

Today is truly an historic day.

This morning the polls opened in Scotland and the people of that country lined up to answer the question: ‘Should Scotland be an independent country?’

A little background: Scotland and England first joined to become the Kingdom of Great Britain in 1707. In 1998, Scotland established its own devolved parliament (with certain powers transferred from Westminister).

she's also a very beautiful country

she’s a very beautiful country

I lived in Glasgow for two years. My brother, my sister-in-law and many of my friends are still there so I’m fortunate to go back very frequently. It’s a special place for me and it’s been a nail-biter to watch its political landscape shift and change over the past few months.

Whatever the outcome of the vote (and I may as well nail my colours to the mast here: if I still lived there I’d vote yes), it’s been a real privilege to witness history in the making and I was delighted to read recently that Scottish voter registration is now at a whopping 97%!

How many other countries are that politically motivated and aware?!

Edinburgh Castle (on a rare sunny day)

Edinburgh Castle (on a rare sunny day)

So today, in honour of that great nation that gave me many happy years and continues to give me lots of great memories and amazing friends, I’m sharing some examples of its fine cuisine so you can join me and Hubs tonight as we sit down to a Scottish feast and raise a glass of whiskey to them.

Appetisers:

Mains:

Desserts

 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s voting day in Scotland! Here are some recipes if (like me) you’re celebrating with a Scottish feast.

Leave a Reply

