Mango Creamiscles (dairy-free!)

almost as good as ice cream....almost

almost as good as ice cream….almost

Yet again I have (almost) survived a scorching Caribbean summer without buying an ice cream maker.

I think we can all agree that this is a formidable act of willpower on my part.

To reward myself, and make the boiling hot days a little easier, I compromised and got some popiscle molds (or, as I like to call them, ice lolly molds).

They’re silicone, BPA-free and in bright, cheery primary colours. I feel a bit like a school mom when using – which is weird and a teeny bit uncomfortable because I don’t have kids.

these babies are going to see a lot of action

these babies are going to see a lot of action

Regardless, you don’t have to be a kid – or a parent – to enjoy the wonders of making your own ice lollies.

I started with these easy, healthy mango treats…but I’m working up to something much more decadent, watch this space.

NB: My popiscle molds hold roughly 1/2 cup liquid, if yours are larger you’ll need to adjust the quantities below.

Mango Creamiscles (makes 4 in conventional popsicle trays)

  • 1 large, ripe mango, peeled and diced
  • 1 small ripe banana
  • 1 cup full-fat coconut milk
  1. Blend everything together until smooth.
  2. Pour into popiscle moulds and freeze for 6-8 hours until firm.

Like this? You might also like:

 

4 thoughts on “Mango Creamiscles (dairy-free!)

  1. Do these not crystallize? I have tried this sort of thing before but found that unless you stir it around they tend to freeze with big chunks of ice in them.

    • Good questions Dennis…and one that I don’t have an answer for. Perhaps the volume of liquid is too small, perhaps it’s the container (there’s not enough room to stir them even if I wanted to). I can only tell you that they honestly froze fine – no weird textures, just good old-fashioned ice lollies.

  2. those look delicious…and I also have made it through a scorching humid summer without an ice cream maker so I know what that feels like! good compromise 🙂

Leave a Reply

