Chia Seed Breakfast Porridge

so filling that I can only manage half a bowl full

topped with banana, cinnamon, berries and pecans!

Super moons, superbugs, super foods….I think we’ve reached Peak Super.

I certainly have. In fact, I’m more likely to avoid eating something if it’s labelled a ‘super food’.

(yep, I’m stubborn that way)

Thankfully I got into chia seeds before all the hype (#hipsterproblems).

I don’t eat them because they’re full of fibre, or because they’re an excellent source of Omega-3 fats or even because they regulate blood sugar and lower infllammation.

I eat them because they taste delicious.

Chia Seed Breakfast Porridge (makes about a cup)

  • 6 oz full fat coconut milk
  • 3 tbsps chia seeds
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsps maple syrup (optional)
  1. Stir the chia seeds, vanilla, cinnamon and maple syrup into the coconut milk. Let sit in the fridge for an hour then stir again. It should thicken to a tapioca-like consistency, if you’d like it a bit runnier just stir in more milk.
  2. Top with fresh fruit, nuts, more cinnamon etc
  3. Keep in the fridge for up to three days (it’d probably be alright up to a week, but it doesn’t last that long in our house!).

Like this? You might also like:

 

5 thoughts on “Chia Seed Breakfast Porridge

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon Quinoa Porridge | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Cashew-Cardamom Chia Pudding | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

