Mexican Salad Dressing

did you know there are some people who can't taste cilantro properly?! It's a genetic thing apparently

did you know there are some people who can’t taste cilantro properly?! It’s a genetic thing apparently

Adopting the alkaline diet has been a real eye-opener.

Previously I’d never even considered whether a food was acidic or alkaline, much less cared.

Now I do and, having opened that door, will continue to try to get a balance between the two.

no acid here!

no acid here!

Helping me through those long days of figuring out what the hell I could eat, were the Alkaline Sisters who have a great blog on the subject.

It was there, browsing around one idle day, that I came across their list of salad dressings and immediately bookmarked the cr*p out of it.

This one’s from them and, rest assured, there’ll be more to come.

Mexican Salad Dressing (makes 1 cup)

*adapted slightly from the Alkaline Sisters

  •  1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp hemp oil
  • 2 tbsps lime juice
  • 2 tbsps lemon juice
  • 1/2 tbsp sea salt
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, very finely chopped
  • 1/2 tbsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp chili powder (I omitted this, and it was still tasty)
  1. Whisk all the above together and let sit for a few minutes before drizzling over a bean salad or greens.

Like this? You might also like:

7 thoughts on “Mexican Salad Dressing

  1. There was a time when I could not stand smelling cilantro at all, it took my breath away. I had an asthmatic type of reaction to it. My husband’s relative visited us and cooked a dish smothered in cilantro; I had to stay outdoors until it was eaten and cleaned up. Over the years, though, something changed; now I can’t get enough cilantro. Now I cannot deal with bay leaves – go figure. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Cashew & Cranberry Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Mint & Cumin Dip | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Zesty Palm Oil Dressing | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: The Ultimate Dry Spice Rub | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

