16 days, lots of potatoes and too many pints to count: A pictorial diary of our Irish roadtrip

the obligatory cow shot

the obligatory cow shot – don’t they look plump, grass-fed and healthy?!

Another holiday, another post-holiday photo sharing session. I hope you’ll forgive me for the lack of words today. I had the kind of holiday (16 days in my home country of Ireland) that you can’t really talk about without getting depressed that it’s over.

But I know that’s the glass-half-empty kind of approach. Instead I should be pleased that it happened at all; overjoyed that I’m blessed with the kind of family and friends who are an absolute pleasure to be around and grateful that my home country is so very beautiful.

While I’m working on that, here’s a brief tour of our trip via the medium of photography.

 

Northern Ireland's beautiful causeway coast (which is the NE side of Ireland)

Northern Ireland’s beautiful causeway coast (which is the NE side of Ireland)

three swans, coming right at me, in Emo, County Laois. Yes, I was scared.

three swans, coming right at me and clearly looking for trouble (or bread) in Emo, County Laois.

Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge in Northern Ireland. We didn't go across because there was a 20 minute wait. Also because I was terrified.

Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge in Northern Ireland. We didn’t go across because there was a 20 minute wait. Also because I was terrified.

a very friendly donkey in County Down. Moments after this he sneezed on a baby and it was hilarious

a very friendly donkey in County Down. Moments after this he sneezed on a baby and it was hilarious

wind turbines overlooking Belfast Lough at dusk

wind turbines overlooking Belfast Lough at dusk

this one made me laugh - Pudding Lane in Kilkenny. Shortly afterwards I went to get an ice cream. Had to be done.

this one made me laugh – Pudding Lane in Kilkenny. Shortly afterwards I went to get an ice cream. Had to be done.

SAM_9935

a statue of unionist politician Edward Carson shakes his fist at Belfast as the city tour bus looks on

 Like this? You might also like:

4 thoughts on “16 days, lots of potatoes and too many pints to count: A pictorial diary of our Irish roadtrip

  1. I laughed out loud reading about the donkey sneezing on the baby. Many moons ago when I was a mere snip of a child, I remember my parents bent over double with hysterics when a llama sneezed on me. This is why I have this sense of humour. I blame them.

  2. Pingback: Observations on Three Weeks of Veganism | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

