Bully Beef Scotch Eggs

served on a bed of salad to make a well-rounded meal!

served on a bed of salad to make a well-rounded meal!

I’ve always thought scotch eggs were…well…a Scottish thing (the clue’s in the name, people!)

So imagine my surprise when I came across this, and on a site called Celtnet no less.

It turns out Jamaica has its own version of the scotch egg. And it’s made with ‘bully beef’ ie corned beef.

if you can, use organic eggs from free roaming chickens

if you can, use organic eggs from free roaming chickens

Mine aren’t corned beef, mainly because I find that stuff more gruesome than that stupid Halloween peeled-grapes-as-eyeballs game.

But I kept the name for the recipe title because it makes me giggle. I’m childish like that.

I ate them with a dollop of tomato & chili jam. Deeelicious

I ate them with a dollop of tomato & chili jam. Deeelicious

Bully Beef Scotch Eggs (makes 5)

*inspired by Celtnet

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 5 hard-boiled eggs, peeled
  • 2 tsps tomato paste
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tbsp almond flour (or very finely ground almonds)
  1. Put the beef in a large mixing bowl and season well with sea salt and black pepper. Stir in the tomato paste, almond flour and oregano, breaking up the mince until well combined.
  2. Grab a handful of the beef and gently encircle the egg until it’s a smooth ball. Repeat until the eggs and beef are used up.
  3. You can either fry your eggs (as in the original version) or bake/broil them. I choose to put them under the broiler, turning as each side browned. It took about 20 minutes in total for the meat to cook through.

Like this? You might also like:

6 thoughts on “Bully Beef Scotch Eggs

  1. Sounds and looks yummy!!! Might try them this weekend!!!

    Hey, I don’t know if you like poetry but there is this new site that I came across… It talks about all kinds of things and is new here on WordPress. The address is: redrebelremarks.wordpress.com

    Check it out wordpressers and pass on the link.. It really is quite good!

  2. Pingback: It’s voting day in Scotland! Here are some recipes if (like me) you’re celebrating with a Scottish feast. | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

