Lamb Chops with Mustard Tarragon Sauce

quick, easy and dinner-party ready

quick, easy and dinner-party ready

“Oh I could never be friends with anyone that ate meat. Never. I just think it’s so ethically wrong.”

Sometimes the things I overhear at the gym make me laugh, sometimes they make me exasperated. Occasionally they make me want to punch someone in the face.

so creamy it's hard to believe it's dairy-free

so creamy it’s hard to believe it’s dairy-free

Being vegan is fine. Being anything is fine. There’s a whole world of dietary choices out there and what you put in your mouth is nobody’s business but your own.

However. When you make snap judgments about people based on their diet, you are an idiot.

remember to save the bones for stock!

remember to save the bones for stock!

I don’t want my animals factory farmed. Nor do I want to condemn myself to a life without steak, bacon, pork, bacon, roast chicken, bacon or these lamb chops.

Thankfully I can easily surmount that ethical dilemma by buying organic, pasture-raised meats (preferably from farmers that I know and trust).

And so my conscience is clear, my body is happy and I don’t have to strike anyone from my friends list.

Lamb Chops with Mustard Tarragon Sauce (serves 2-3)

  • 8 lamb chops
  • 1 tbsp ghee or coconut oil
  • 1/2 white onion, finely sliced
  • 1 tbsp yellow mustard
  • 1 tbsp djion mustard
  • 1/4 cup, plus a tbsp full-fat coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp tarragon
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  1. Melt the ghee in a large frying pan over a high heat.
  2. Once it starts to sizzle add the lamb chops and sear 1-2 minutes each side until browned. Season well then place in a casserole dish or baking tray and bake at 400 for 10-15 minutes, depending on the thickness of the chops and how well done you like your meat (mine were in 15 minutes and were well-done with no sign of pinkness).
  3. While the lamb is baking, add the onion to the frying pan and fry gently over a low heat until soft. Use a wooden spoon to scrape up the browned bits from the bottom of the pan and stir in with the onions (add more ghee if needed).
  4. When the onions are silky, remove from the heat and stir in the mustards, followed by the coconut milk. Add the tarragon and stir in the lemon.
  5. Spoon the sauce over the chops and serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

 

 

4 thoughts on “Lamb Chops with Mustard Tarragon Sauce

  1. Pingback: Garlic Balsamic Lamb Chops | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

