Ground Beef Vindaloo

it burnt my mouth off...in a good way

it burnt my mouth off…in a good way

Although vindaloo (a hot curry with its origins in Portugal and India) is usually made with pork, it’s also popular with beef.

However when beef is used in this dish, it’s usually stewing steak or some other chunky version so I’m sure there are a lot of curry purists out there giving me a hard eye-roll about now.

To those purists, I say: where’s life without a little adventure? If I listened to strait-laced, po-faced culinary traditionalists would I have made bacon brownies? Avocado mousse? Chestnut pudding? 

Yes, I’m aware there’s a theme there. What can I say? I love dessert.

here it is from another angle (I spoil you)

here it is from another angle (I spoil you)

In the kitchen, there’s a fine line between genius and oh-holy-hell-what-did-I-just-make?!

Thankfully this fragrant, spicy curry was definitely at the genius end of the scale.

Ground Beef Vindaloo  (serves 2)

  • 8oz ground beef
  • 2 tbsps ghee
  • 1 small white onion, finely chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 red chilis, finely sliced (with seeds for maximum heat, de-seeded if your tastebuds are sensitive)
  • 1 inch piece root ginger, peeled and finely chopped
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp stoneground mustard
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup beef or chicken stock
  1. Melt the ghee in a saucepan over a medium high heat and add the onion, garlic, ginger and chilis. Fry gently for 5-7 minutes while the onion softens.
  2. Add the beef, turn up the heat and let it brown while breaking up any clumps with a wooden spoon. Add the spices, mustard and salt. Stir.
  3. When the beef has browned, pour in the stock and add the cilantro. Stir again and let simmer for another 5 minutes. Serve with turmeric cauli-rice.

Like this? You might also like:

 

 

4 thoughts on “Ground Beef Vindaloo

  1. Pingback: Taco Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Slow Cooker Chicken Masala | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

