Turmeric Cauli-rice

yes, my tongue was yellow after eating

yes, my tongue was yellow after eating

Are you familiar with Food Babe?

Well perhaps you should be. This woman has literally changed the way I eat with her devastating exposes of the darkest corners of the food industry.

There was the post she did about beers (identifying those that contain GMOs and other nasties), the post about tea (spoiler: buy organic) and a very helpful look at spice brands.

It was the latter that got my friends and I talking (yes, we are that exciting. Don’t you wish you were part of the group?) since almost everyone has bought the generic supermarket stuff once in a while. I actually pride myself on having a very well-stocked spice cabinet but, after reading Food Babe, it was clear that most of it was MSG-laden junk.

cauli-rice is the best invention since standing desks. Fact.

cauli-rice is the best invention since standing desks. Fact.

So I pushed the boat out and bought some very good turmeric. And that led to all kinds of turmeric recipes, which is a good thing because I’m in love with this mellow yellow spice.

This rice goes with pretty much anything, although my favourite thing is to fry up some chicken or prawns, add a few spices and then dump that on top of this cauli-rice in a big bowl…which then goes into my face.

It’s comfort (healthy) eating at its best.

Turmeric Cauli-rice (serves 2-3)

  • 1/2 large cauliflower, trimmed and divided into small florets
  • 1/4 cup chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1/4 white onion, very finely chopped
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp ghee
  • 3/4tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  1. Melt the ghee in a frying pan (one that comes with a suitable lid as you need to cover it later). Add the onion and garlic, gently fry for 7 minutes.
  2. Pulse the cauliflower in a food processor until it is a rough crumb or a rice-like consistency.
  3. Add the cauliflower to the pan and stir. Add the turmeric and stir again.
  4. Pour in the stock, turn the heat down to its lowest setting and cover. Let steam, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes. Serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

 

 

11 thoughts on “Turmeric Cauli-rice

  1. Pingback: Ground Beef Vindaloo | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: GIVEAWAY: Win a bottle of antioxidant-rich Curcumin Advanced | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Butter Chicken | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Cauliflower Steaks with Ginger, Turmeric and Cumin | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Chinese Roasted Purple Cauliflower | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Coconut & Cashew Chicken Curry | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Spicy Sausage & Cauliflower Casserole | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Slow Cooker Chicken Masala | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Kitchen Sink Fried Rice | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

