Roast Asparagus with Lime Cilantro Vinaigrette

caption

one way to liven up a pretty dull veg

We’re still missing Dog terribly (I’m sorry, I’ll stop going on about it soon. Until then, feel free to scroll to the recipe and avoid all this grief-stricken word vomit)

So much, in fact, that the grief is driving me a little insane. I think I see him out of the corner of my eye, I walk to the fridge to get his meal ready, I open my mouth to call for him.

caption

use any leftover dressing for salads or dip

It reached a new low last night when I found myself sniffing his old bed. See!? Loony tunes.

None of which has anything to do with asparagus, but that’s where I’m at and that’s what I’m writing.

Normal service will resume when I come back from crazy town.

Roast Asparagus with Lime Cilantro Vinaigrette (serves 2-3)

*adapted from Epicurious

  • a small bunch asparagus
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil, plus 2 tbsps
  • 3 tbsps lime juice
  • 1 cup fresh cilantro, roughly chopped
  • pinch of sea salt
  1. Toss the asparagus in 2 tbsps olive oil, season well then roast at 400 for 15-20 minutes until tender.
  2. Blend the lime juice, cilantro, rest of the olive oil and the salt to a semi-smooth paste.
  3. Drizzle the vinaigrette over the asparagus and serve.

Like this? You might also like:

 

9 thoughts on “Roast Asparagus with Lime Cilantro Vinaigrette

  1. There are few things worse than losing a dog. We have nine, and foresee a long string of grief awaiting us. We also have 8 cats and a parrot, having dedicated much of the last decade to animal rescue.
    There is great comfort in knowing that you made a creature happy every single day of its life with you, though. Many of our babies were neglected or abused, but now they’re spoiled and lazy and happy. I, too, saw our little departed ones out of the corner of my eye for a time. Maybe they do hang around for a little while. Who knows…
    It gets easier with time, but you never forget.
    Hugs…

    • Thanks for your lovely comment Sondra. Our guy was a rescue too and it does give me some peace to know we saved him from a life on the streets. Someone should give you a medal – nine dogs, eight cats and a parrot?! Enjoy every minute with them, it’s never enough…

  2. Every time I lose a dog, I swear that I’ll never have another one. I’m a big liar!! Dogs make our lives infinitely better. And when they’re gone, we have to rely on our memories of them until the hurt is bearable. Time is about the only thing that helps. Hang in there, I know how hard it is…

  3. Thanks for the recipe, I can’t wait to try it!
    I also wanted to send you many hugs, I know how hard it is to lose a pet. I lost my mini doxie rescue in 2011 and sometimes I can still hear his nails clicking on the hardwood floor. It gets easier and eventually that hole in your heart won’t hurt so much. Take care!

    • Thanks Rachel, I definitely need to hear that right now…sometimes it feels like the grief is still as fresh as ever 😦 I shall take your words of encouragement to heart though and keep looking ahead!

Leave a Reply

