Saying Goodbye

I miss those big, brown eyes

I miss that face so much it hurts

Five years ago, I met the two great loves of my life – Hubs and Dog.

They came as a pair and I’ve never known a dog to be so bonded to its owner. Hubs couldn’t walk from one room to the other without Dog trotting at his heels. They shared a bed, a sofa, a whole lifetime before I came on the scene.

Walking as I did into this batchelor idyll, you’d expect Dog to show some animosity towards me, but that wasn’t his style.

he was a fiend for that frisbee

he was a fiend for that frisbee

To him, my integration into the household just meant there was another person to love, and be loved by.

And this was a dog who loved to love.

It practically came off him in waves. Every time you walked through the door you’d get hit with a tsunami, all that joy washing over you like the tide.

Now I turn the key in the lock and feel nothing but a chilly absence.

this is his 'I'm listening very hard' face

this is his ‘I’m listening very hard’ face

Nobody knows your dog like you do. Nobody sees the quiet hours when it’s just the two of you and he’s curled up at your feet (or, in Dog’s case, on your feet). When he lays his head on your lap and demands attention. When his boisterous tail beats a tattoo against the coffee table because he’s so glad you’re there and don’t you want to play?

Dog gave us all those moments and more.

He was the heart of our house, a heart that stopped beating yesterday when the vet put him peacefully to sleep in his own bed. We held him and whispered words in his ear and hoped he heard the love behind them.

I’m taking a short break from blogging to say goodbye, thank Dog for his unconditional love and send whatever prayers I can up to heaven where I’m sure he’s poised by the door, that noisy tail a blur of movement, impatiently waiting for Hubs and I to walk through.

love you bud

love you bud

 

64 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye

  1. Such a beautiful little man. I’m so sorry, as I wipe tears from my eyes, I can’t imagine your pain. We know he’s in Heaven. Hugs

  2. I know what you are feeling. I have had to do this twice in my life. It is a very sad time. However, I don’t like life without a dog and so we have another beautiful dog to love.

  3. I am so sorry for your loss. It’s a blessing to be so unconditionally loved. May your many happy memories bring you more joy.

  4. Love so sweet in the face of your beloved Dog is truly matched by the sweetness of your words. Long live the beauty of his energy!

  5. It’s so sad to let them go, but so wonderful Dog was loved dearly. I’m happy Dog had a great life with you and your husband.

  6. What a beautiful tribute to your beloved Dog. The “missing” is so hard. To lose one who loves us wholeheartedly is difficult to bear. I am sorry.

  7. “It came to me that every time I lose a dog they take a piece of my heart with them, and every new dog who comes into my life gifts me with a piece of their heart. If I live long enough all the components of my heart will be dog, and I will become as generous and loving as they are.” Anonymous

  8. The hardest part is saying goodbye to a loved one. Thank you for sharing your story of your beloved dog. Wishing you peace and good memories.

  9. I’m so sorry! When my dog died I read Dog Heaven every night (for months!) and it made me feel more calm and at peace with the loss.It’s a kids short story but I think it will always be one of my favorite books.

  10. Thank you for sharing your story……I know Dog felt your love as you sent him on to his new journey…..I can see him now playing with his frisbie……

    I am about to face the same situation as you…..our baby girl Holly who is a Jack Russell has just turned 17 and everyday we can see her getting a little weaker….I pray that God will give us the courage to make the decision at the right time.

    God Bless and cuddles sent to Heaven for Dog

    Ann
    South Australia

    • Thanks for your comment, Ann. I’m so sorry to hear about Holly. It’s never easy. Wishing her a peaceful journey onwards and you the strength to get through it. Much love to your family and Holly.

  11. I know what you’re going through and my heart goes out to you. It helped me to think of them (I’ve lost 3) being young and healthy again in Heaven. He will be waiting for you there with a wagging tail.

  12. ohhhh, i’m so sorry. I know exactly how you’re feeling. Sending you a hug and will pray much grace for you and Hubs today.

  13. My heart hurts for you. I’m sorry for your sorrow but I am happy for the love you shared with him. May the memories of his happy, joyous soul carry you until you find your balance.

  14. I’m so sorry. An animal’s absence leaves a hole in our heart. In time though the memories warm our heart and bring a smile to our face.

  15. I’m so sorry! They really do work their way into our hearts and lives. I’m so glad you got to say goodbye to him in the comfort of home and surrounded by family. He’ll be patiently waiting for you in heaven, no doubt. Hugs, lady.

  16. Pingback: What Not To Say To Grieving Pet Owners | Things My Belly Likes

  17. Pingback: Why I Stockpile Apple Cider Vinegar (and you should too) | Things My Belly Likes

  18. Pingback: Apricot & Pistachio Stuffed Lamb | Things My Belly Likes

  19. So, so sorry for your loss. He sounds like a fantastic pup and what a lucky guy to be so loved!! We put my 16 year old kitty to rest last month and it is the hardest thing I’ve ever done. My heart hurts for you. Sending hugs and hope time brings you peace.

    • Thanks Caroline and sympathies for your loss. It’s a comfort to remember that the pain at the end is more than worth all the love you get during their lifetime ❤

Leave a Reply

