Thursday Links! (featuring progress pics, meat-packing and other fun stuff)

there's always time for internets

there’s always time for internets

We’ve family visiting and the house has been a whirlwind of large dinners, yelping dogs, presents, laughter, love and smiles.

It’s chaos, but it’s a happy chaos.

Despite the tornado that is my extended family, I still found time to trawl the net (I’m nothing if not dedicated to you guys). Here’s what I was reading this week:

1. So ‘reverse progress’ photos are now a thing, thanks to the awesome Taryn Brumfitt who went viral when she posted some unconventional before and after pics. As someone who has also put on weight in a bid to be healthier, I am loving this trend.

Taryn's beautiful bod - before and after

Taryn’s beautiful bod – before and after (for more on Taryn, check out the Body Image Movement)

2. I like to think that I’m half-Canadian, because I’m married to one (sssshhh…I know it doesn’t work that way), so it did my heart good to see this baby moose making friends at a Tim Hortons. In case you’re worried, some guy didn’t just abduct a moose and take it for a coffee date – it was rescued after its mother died and taken to a shelter.

3. Here are 23 photos of people from all over the world with what they eat on an average day. I found it fascinating and surprising (and I also kinda want to be an Egyptian camel broker now).

apparently NASA astronauts get 2,700 calories a day

apparently NASA astronauts get 2,700 calories a day

4. An oldie, but a goodie. This one’s been around for a while but I recently re-read author David Foster Wallace’s commencement speech to Kenyon College in 2005 and it gave me goosebumps all over again. Read it, absorb it and change the way you think about the world.

5. Everyone likes a good quiz and I’m no exception. Sadly this Can You Judge Famous Books By Its Cover? defeated me and I scored a barely respectable 6/10. Shame.

6. Warning: some of these images are downright disturbing. Check out what life was like in meat-packing factories in 1893. It ain’t pretty.

those are some mighty big knives

yowza, those are some mighty big knives

7. This has to be a strong contender for Most Depressing News of the Week – women are paying $1,000 for ‘fat-zapping’ laser surgery to get a thigh gap. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry so settled on both.

8. Are you a runner or a jogger, because there’s a big difference according to this Guardian columnist who says:

Runners run because they love running. Joggers jog because they love cake and, to a lesser extent, fitting into their trousers.

 

3 thoughts on “Thursday Links! (featuring progress pics, meat-packing and other fun stuff)

  1. Shared it on FB cause I love your new pyramid. Having been without internet at home for a couple of days due to lightning strike I thought it was really funny.
    Your links are grand, too. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

