Banana Date Muffins

a hearty breakfast

the breakfast of champions

You’ll never know how strong you are until you are forced to make delicious baked goods for other people while on the Whole30.

“Lick the batter!’ My evil inner voice whispered as I folded the dates into the bowl. “Just one taste won’t hurt.”

I was making a batch of these for my visiting inlaws. They are staying in a guesthouse and I wanted them to have something healthy and homemade on hand for breakfast rather than the usual cereal-laden breakfast buffets those places serve.

don't be afraid to use really gross, over-ripe bananas - the sweeter the better!

don’t be afraid to use really gross, over-ripe bananas – the sweeter the better!

My heart felt happy that I was able to provide for them. My belly did not get the memo.

It whimpered, moaned and complained throughout the whole process.

But you’ll be pleased to know I stayed strong. None of these muffins touched my lips and I have not one regret.

Not even when Ma-in-law said: ‘These are amazing. I hope you kept some for yourself!”

Banana Date Muffins (makes 9)

  • 2 very ripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour, sieved
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup chopped dates
  • 1/4 cup butter or coconut oil, melted
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 tbsps honey
  1. Mash the bananas to a gooey pulp, then whisk together the butter/oil, eggs and honey.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, nutmeg and cinnamon. Gradually add the wet ingredients to the dry (I find it helpful to do this in stages because coconut flour dries out very quickly and if you over-stir, you’ll be left with a clumpy, dry, batter).
  3. Spoon the batter into a greased or lined muffin tray. Bake at 375 for 20 minutes. Let cool before extracting from pan.

Like this? You might also like:

2 thoughts on “Banana Date Muffins

  1. Pingback: Hot Spiced Bananas | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

