Calf Liver & Beef Keema

I was going to serve it with cauli-rice, but opted for fried plantains instead

I was going to serve it with cauli-rice, but opted for fried plantains instead

I almost didn’t put liver in the title of this recipe, because I know full well what a turn-off that is.

Liver is my All Time Most Hated Food (and it pains me to hate any food), so you can trust me when I say that this recipe hides it like I hide chocolate at the back of the fridge (hubs if you’re reading this, I’m joking….don’t look there. DON’T).

Curry is the only thing that disguises liver to the point where I actually enjoy eating it. There’s something about that pleasing combination of spices that wipes out the hideous texture and taste.

there's liver in there somewhere...but I defy you to taste it

there’s liver in there somewhere…but I defy you to taste it

Of course, if you’re a liver lover (ugh, sorry. Will never type that phrase again), then you don’t need the help but this recipe is for you too because it’s a great way to get even more organ meat into your diet.

And why is that important. Because health, that’s why. Liver is a great source of B-vitamins and iron. In fact, organ meats like liver are between ten and a hundred times higher in nutrients than muscle meat.

That’s enough to make me want to add this meal to the weekly rotation. Superfood-tastic!

Calf Liver & Beef Keema (serves 2)

*adapted from Karam Sethi

  • 8oz ground beef
  • 50g/ 1.7oz calf liver
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 small, white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 inch-chunk root ginger, peeled and chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 green chili, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 tsp dried fenugreek (methi) leaves
  • 2 tsps garam masala
  • small bunch fresh cilantro, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  1. Heat the oil in a large, heavy-bottomed saucepan and add the onions, bay leaf and fenugreek. Fry until the onion colours then add the mince and cook until it browns.
  2. Stir in the garlic, ginger, chili, spices and salt. Cook for another few minutes.
  3. Add the tomato and reduce the heat slightly. Dice the liver very finely then add to the pan along with the stock. Cover and simmer over a low heat for 8 minutes.
  4. Stir in the garam masala, followed by the coriander, and serve.

 Like this? You might also like:

7 thoughts on “Calf Liver & Beef Keema

  1. I’ve solved my liver consumption quandry by blending it to a liquid, then making little liver pills using a pastry bag, then freezing. I take a handful every morning with my other supplements and don’t ever smell, taste or feel the dreaded liver. I can even get some other organs in there, like heart, and my mouth doesn’t even know the difference. All the benefit with no gagging.

  2. I have frozen fenugreek leaves…will those work or do I have to alter how I cook them? I haven’t used them in any recipes yet so I don’t know how they hold up to cooking.

    I saw your liver-bacon meatball recipe and decided to try adding liver to my usual meatball recipe. It was tasty and made the meatballs very moist. No one seemed to notice….I contemplated telling my hubby, but decided not to. If he didn’t notice the bowl of bloody pulp (sorry for that image) sitting on my counter, that was his fault. =)

    • Hi Jenny, glad to hear the meatballs (pulp and all) were a success! As for the fenugreek, I’d use ’em. Just chop them very finely and go for it.

Leave a Reply

