Clapshot with Bacon

originated in Orkney and traditionally served with haggis. It also traditionally contains potato but I skipped that part

originated in Orkney and traditionally served with haggis. It also traditionally contains potato but I skipped that part

It is a disgrace and a travesty that I had to hear about clapshot from the internet.

It’s a traditional Scottish dish, very similar to Irish champ – in that it’s mashed root vegetables and often involves potato.

I’m Irish, and I lived in Scotland for two years.

Why then, was I so ignorant of this delicious side dish? It’s a shocking lapse on my part.

One I must make up for by eating this in great quantities…or at least that’s my excuse.

Clapshot with Bacon (serves 4)

  • 5 carrots, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 3 turnips, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 4 slices/rashers bacon
  1. Place the carrots and turnips in a pan of water. Bring to a boil then simmer for 25 minutes until soft.
  2. Fry the bacon until crispy then remove from the pan and cut into pieces.
  3. Season the carrots and turnips then mash well with the butter. Stir in the bacon bits and serve.

Like this? You might also like:

8 thoughts on “Clapshot with Bacon

  1. haha. I haven’t finished my coffee, mind you, but I read this twice before I realized it was just a typo. “Fry the butter until crispy then remove from the pan and cut into pieces.”

    I thought, “Now how do you do that?? Mine just melts!” DERP.

  2. Pingback: It’s voting day in Scotland! Here are some recipes if (like me) you’re celebrating with a Scottish feast. | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

