Banana Hemp Brownies

flourless and very moist - what more could you ask for in a brownie?!

brownies are the best antidote to the Monday blues

Hubs and I have very different shopping styles at the supermarket.

I see something that looks tasty and I run through a checklist in my head:

“Is it healthy?”

“Will it fit into my meal plan for the week?”

“Will it get eaten before it expires?”

“How much does it cost?”

do not attempt to cut while warm. I made that mistake and they split slightly

do not attempt to cut while warm. I made that mistake and they split slightly

Hubs sees something tasty and he buys it.

(sometimes I envy his uncomplicated approach to life)

Which is how we ended up with a big box of chocolate-flavoured hemp protein powder this week.

A quick look at the ingredients was reassuring. Yes, there was sugar and cocoa but it appears to be high quality and hemp is such a wonder food that I’m willing to overlook the additives.

moist, flourless and gluten-free - I have achieved the holy grail of guiltless brownies

moist, flourless and gluten-free – I have achieved the holy grail of guiltless brownies

Contrary to what my mother thinks, these brownies will not get you high.

Well, not in the conventional sense. They made me very high on chocolate, sugar and life in general.

 Banana Hemp Brownies (makes 16 small squares)

  • 1 cup chocolate hemp protein powder (I used Manitoba Harvest)
  • 1/2 cup shelled hemp seeds (or sunflower seeds)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil or butter, melted
  •  2 large, ripe bananas
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup raw honey
  1. Mash the banana to a pulp then whisk together with the egg, oil/butter, vanilla and honey.
  2. Stir in the protein, followed by the hemp seeds.
  3. Pour the batter into a greased or lined 8 x 8 in brownie tin. Bake at 375 for 10-15 minutes. Let cool slightly before cutting and serving.

Like this? You might also like:

 

2 thoughts on “Banana Hemp Brownies

  1. Pingback: Double Chocolate Chip Power Bars | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

