Pumpkin Ginger Bread

please note my new oven glove beside it - nice, eh?!

please note my new oven glove beside it – nice, eh?!

Yes, I know I’m a little late with this one.

The season of pumpkin was about two months ago, it’s true. But as long as my local farmer keeps growing ’em, I’ll keep eating ’em.

(or baking them into delicious cakes and breads)

here she is, right before I ate a slice and the red mist descended

here she is, right before I ate a slice and the red mist descended

Of course, I’m biased but I highly recommend you use my pumpkin puree in this one.

Not only is it much healthier than the canned stuff (which usually contains sugar, preservatives to make it live forever and BPA leached from the can’s lining) but it’s also got some lovely additions to make it better than your average pumpkin puree.

Additions like cinnamon, vanilla, nutmeg and a pinch of nutmeg.

it's got a very soft, moist texture - like cake

it’s got a very soft, moist texture – like cake

It all works with the ginger here, creating a sweet loaf that I devoured for breakfast but is also applicable to snack times and desserts.

Pumpkin Ginger Bread (makes one loaf)

  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 extra large eggs
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 3 tbsps honey
  • 1/2 cup butter or coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsps ground ginger
  • 1/4 cup crystallised ginger, finely chopped
  1. Whisk together the eggs, honey, puree and butter. Stir in the crystallised ginger.
  2. Sieve the coconut flour into a large mixing bowl, followed by the ginger and baking powder.
  3. Gradually add the wet ingredients to the dry until you have a thick batter (coconut flour can be tricksy, for tips on working with it see here).
  4. Spoon into a greased, standard sized loaf tin and bake at 375 for 25-30 minutes until firm.

Like this? You might also like:

9 thoughts on “Pumpkin Ginger Bread

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin, Basil & Chive Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: DIY Pumpkin Pie Spice | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Cheesecake | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Roasted Pumpkin & Cumin Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Roasted Pumpkin & Cumin Soup | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

