Roasted Radish & Tarragon Salad

radishes: the unsung heroes of the onion aisle

radishes: the unsung heroes of the onion aisle

I always thought radishes were a poor man’s onion, and so I shunned them.

Yes, I’m terribly elitist when it comes to food.

I owe these radishes an apology

I owe these radishes an apology

Then I discovered that when you roast radishes they become a very different animal.

(obviously not literally. That would be weird and scientifically troublesome)

Some commentators online said they resembled roast potatoes and that was that. I’ll give anything a go if you tell me it tastes like potato – potato is my trigger word.

they look like potatoes

they look like potatoes

Sadly I have to disagree. The texture is very definitely not potato. Radishes retain a bit of a crunch to them. But it wasn’t unpleasant.

In fact, they were quite delicious. Especially slathered with salt.

Me being me, I went one step further and made a kind of faux-potato salad for my roast radishes.

Roasted Radish & Tarragon Salad (serves 2-3)

  • 8 radishes, quartered
  • 1 tbsp duck (0r bacon) fat
  • sea salt & black pepper
  • 1 tsp mayo
  • 1 tsp djion mustard
  • 1 spring/green onion, finely chopped
  • 1 heaped tsp fresh tarragon, finely chopped
  1. Melt the fat in a small baking dish and toss the radishes in it until well coated. Season liberally with salt and pepper.
  2. Bake at 420 for 20-25 minutes until slightly browned and soft enough to poke a fork through easily. Remove from oven and let cool.
  3. Stir radishes together with mayo, mustard, onions and tarragon. Chill until ready to serve.

Like this? You might also like:

5 thoughts on “Roasted Radish & Tarragon Salad

  1. I think I would like this very much. I have cooked radishes in a creamy sauce before and they were lovely. I can not imagine why someone would say they resemble potatoes though….Like how you dressed them up into a salad.

Leave a Reply

