Sausage & Green Apple Smash

smash is my made-up term for throwing lots of delicious ingredients together and baking it

smash is my made-up term for throwing lots of delicious ingredients together and baking it

It smells like something has died in my fridge. Seriously.

Either that or evil has taken up residence somewhere between the jars of broth and tubs of butter.

(Remember that scene from Ghostbusters? When Sigourney Weaver finds a reincarnated demon in her fridge? I imagine it’s that sort of scenario)

Of course, it might also be the fish that I shoved in a bottom door to defrost and then promptly forgot about.

don't worry, I threw the reeking fish away

don’t worry, I threw the reeking fish away

Greeted by a stinking, mushy mass of decaying snapper, I decided against fish for dinner and instead threw together this smash (which is basically sausage meat, apple and some assorted flavourings mixed together and baked – easy peasy).

Try to buy good quality sausages if you can get them. None of those anaemic looking, thin, white fingers that pass for sausages in the supermarket. I’m talking the thick cut, straight from the pig to the butcher, kind of sausage.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go find a Catholic priest willing to exorcise my fridge and pray for my soul.

Sausage & Green Apple Fritters (serves 2-3)

  • 4 thick pork sausages
  • 1 shallot, peeled and finely sliced
  • 1 green apple (I used Granny Smith), peeled, cored and finely diced
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 2 tsps djion mustard
  • 1 large egg
  1. Extract the meat from the sausages by removing the outer casing and discarding it.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, season the sausage meat and mix with the other ingredients until it clumps together.
  3. Press into a standard loaf tin and bake at 375 for 20 minutes.

Like this? You might also like:

3 thoughts on “Sausage & Green Apple Smash

  1. Pingback: Grilled Bratwurst & Cheddar Soup | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

