Reviewing WholeMe’s Grain-free Cereal

all images in this post are courtesy of WholeMe, because their pictures are much prettier than mine

all images in this post are courtesy of WholeMe, because their pictures are much prettier than mine

Ask hubs what the hardest part of going paleo was and he’ll say, without hesitation, “giving up cereal”.

Yep, my man was a cereal-chomping machine – back in the bad old days he considered a bowl of Cheerios a complete meal.

And that’s why, when the lovely people at WholeMe offered me some grain-free cereal (and other goodies, but I’ll get to them later), I couldn’t say no.

I’m not the kind of freebie-whore that says “yes” to every offer in my inbox, but this was too good to pass up.

For a start, WholeMe is about as close to my eating manifesto as you can get. Their products are grain-free, gluten-free, sugar-free, preservative-free and whole food based.

And, aside from the cereal, they also produce a line of cake-like sweet treats – the Pecan & Date DateMe bar and Cacao Nib & Espresso WakeMe bar.

The WakeMe bar - flavoured with espresso and cacao nib

The WakeMe bar – flavoured with espresso and cacao nib

All made from ingredients that will suit almost any diet. Whether you are celiac, diabetic, dairy-free, paleo or just grain-free, you can eat and enjoy.

So did we eat and enjoy?

EatMe cereal. Made with almonds, peptias, sunflower seeds and a lot of love (I'm assuming, it tasted lovely anyway)

EatMe cereal. Made with almonds, peptias, sunflower seeds and a lot of love (I’m assuming, it tasted lovely anyway)

Well, between us, hubs and I polished off an entire bag of the stuff in one night. If I hadn’t lost my ability to feel food-related shame years ago, I’d be a bit embarrassed about how fast it disappeared.

It has a strong almond taste and is pleasantly crumbly and chewy.

What makes it stand apart from the stuff at the store is the subtle sweetness. I find most regular cereals to be loaded up with sugar whereas the only sweetener in EatMe is a smidge of honey. I say a smidge because it’s enough to satsify a sweet tooth but not so overpowering that it’ll have you bouncing off the walls.

The bars were also a hit. Soft, moist, chewy and naturally sweetened with dates they tasted too good to be as ‘clean’ as they are.

My only niggle (if I had to have a niggle) was that the espresso wasn’t strong enough for me. I’d have liked more of a coffee hit, but that’s just my own personal preference. Overall, both tasted like delicious cake so no real complaints there.

I’m planning on giving some to grain-guzzling friends who frequently roll their eyes at my “crazy diet” notions. If there was ever a way to convince those lovers of the Standard American Diet that healthy can be delicious, WholeMe is it.

the DateMe bar - a date and pecan slice. Giving it to someone you want to date is optional (but probably would seal the deal)

the DateMe bar – a date and pecan slice. Giving it to someone you want to date is optional (but probably would seal the deal)

And now it’s your turn to treat your tastebuds. WholeMe have generously agreed to giveaway some products to lucky TMBL readers. Tune in next week for more details….

Other than samples of the products listed, I received no compensation for this post. Nor am I affiliated in any way with WholeMe.

3 thoughts on “Reviewing WholeMe’s Grain-free Cereal

  1. Pingback: GIVEAWAY: Win WholeMe’s Grain-free Cereal & Snack Bars! | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Bored of Breakfast? Good Morning Paleo Has You Covered | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

