Chinese Five-Spice Powder

use on chicken, pork, seafood, sprinkled into stir-frys or to give a sweet spicy hit to baked goods

use on chicken, pork, seafood, sprinkled into stir-frys or to give a sweet spicy hit to baked goods

There’s an entire cupboard in my kitchen devoted to spices.

As soon as you open the door a wonderful waft of exotic scents punches you in the nasal glands (in a good way). It’s the only place in the house the ants/roaches/millipedes won’t go.

(btw I don’t live in filth, we get a lot of pests because we live in the Caribbean. Don’t judge ’til you’ve lived in a tropical climate – it’s wave after wave of beasties)

The reason for my obsession with spices is obvious. I love food. I love all kinds and all flavours and I especially love cuisines from far-flung places involving a plethora of fragrant spices.

I also like knowing exactly what’s in my food, so making my own spice mix is a better fit for me than buying the pre-mixed stuff that has probably sat on the supermarket shelf for so long that it’s now staler than a 90s one-hit wonder (Dee-Lite’s Groove is in the Heart anyone?)

Chinese Five-Spice Powder (makes about 1/3 cup)

*slightly adapted from Chow

  • 2 tbsps star anise
  • 2 tbsps ground fennel
  • 2 tsps ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  1. Stir all the above together until well mixed. Store in an airtight container, preferably somewhere cool and dark.

Like this? You might also like:

4 thoughts on “Chinese Five-Spice Powder

  1. Pingback: Chinese Five-Spice Pork | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Chinese Five-Spice Powder | Suburbhomestead

Leave a Reply

