Blackened Pan Fried Snapper

I love it when my food looks at me as I eat it

I love it when my food looks at me as I eat it

Considering I used to put fish away faster than a hungry shark, I find them kinda gross.

There’s something about their pale, scaly flesh and staring eyes that give me the heebie jeebies.

I'm all for nose-to-tail eating, but this is a bit horrifying

I’m all for nose-to-tail eating, but yuck.

I put that distaste aside the other night to make these delicious fillets.

One of the (many) perks of living in the Caribbean is the access to lots of fish. These were local snappers and I look forward to boiling the bones up for a tasty fish head broth.

yeah, the pan was a bit crowded but we made it work

yeah, the pan was a bit crowded but we made it work

Blackened Pan Fried Snapper (serves 2)

  • 2 whole snapper, cleaned and gutted
  • 2 tbsps butter
  • 2 tsps paprika
  • 2 tsps garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 1/2 tsps sea salt
  1. Pat the fish dry and sprinkle with a little salt. Make two or three diagonal slits along the flesh (starting near the head).
  2. Melt the butter in a large frying pan then pour it into a bowl.
  3. Mix the spices together.
  4. Liberally brush the fish on both sides with butter and follow with a generous dusting of the spice mix.
  5. Heat the pan over a high heat and add the snapper. Fry for 5-7 minutes on each side then serve with a wedge of lemon.

Like this? You might also like:

5 thoughts on “Blackened Pan Fried Snapper

  1. Pingback: Caribbean Fish Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Lemon & Fennel Stuffed Snapper | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

