Mixed Seafood Chowder

I love soup bowls that double as mugs. One of life's little pleasures

I love soup bowls that double as mugs. One of life’s little pleasures

There’s been a lot of debate lately about the safety of fish (I’ve even been guilty of a bit of fear-mongering myself) what with Fukushima still pumping radiation into the Pacific ocean at an alarming rate.

But I read an interesting article from Chris Kresser last week in which he argued that fears of contamination from Fukushima were grossly exaggerated.

The good doctor has long been an advocate of fish – claiming that the concern over mercury is another misleading minefield and that the benefits of eating fish vastly outweigh the disadvantages to not eating it.

buttery, creamy, good

buttery, creamy, good

Back when I wasn’t eating meat, there was a lot more fish in my diet.

I practically ate my way through a whole ocean every week.

Those fish eating habits have fallen by the wayside somewhat, but I’m bringing them back.

And it starts with this delicious chowder.

Mixed Seafood Chowder (serves 2-3)

  • 6 mussels
  • 6 oz smoked fish (cod, haddock or salmon are good choices), flaked into chunks
  • 6 king prawns
  • 2 1/2 cups fish or chicken stock
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 medium potato, peeled and diced (optional)
  • 1/2 cup sweetcorn
  • 1/2 large, white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp fresh parsley, roughly chopped
  1. Melt the butter in a large saucepan over a medium heat. Add the onion and gently cook until they turn golden.
  2. Stir in the potato and parsley, followed by the stock. Turn up the heat to a boil, then reduce to simmer.
  3. Simmer for 15 minutes. Add the mussels, fish and prawns and simmer for a further five minutes until the mussels are open and tender and the prawns opaque.
  4. Stir in the sweetcorn and the cream. Serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

4 thoughts on “Mixed Seafood Chowder

  1. Chris is a very smart guy and a great health detective (finally! someone who actually wants to treat my thyroid!), but he’s not a doctor. Jus sayin’.

    Mussels freak me out. Other than that, this sounds really yummy!

    • Thanks Kim. I guess I just assumed he was since I know he has a practice and treats patients. Article amended accordingly! Mussels freak me out too, especially when ‘bearded’. Seriously, what’s that about?!

  2. Pingback: Parmesan & Garlic Stuffed Mussels | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Crockpot Chicken & Bacon Chowder | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

