Jalapeno & Garbanzo Burgers

caption

they’re more fiery than they look

It’s not often that I prefer the American vernacular over English but Garbanzo beans is one of those times.

They just sound better than plain, old, chickpeas. Also it’s more accurate because these are most decidedly beans and not peas at all. At. All.

(nor did they come from chicks, as far as I’m aware)

I eat beans. I realise the readers who came here because they consider TMBL to be a Paleo/Primal blog will be a bit confused by this.

Let me explain. I’m not a fan of dietary labels. While I wholeheartedly support and consider myself to be an engaged member of the Paleo community (love you guys!), my diet isn’t 100% Paleo or Primal. Sometimes I veer off into the WAPF territory. The way I see it we’re all here to eat healthy and that means focusing on REAL FOOD. 

Garbanzo beans are a real food. I don’t eat them often and, when I do, I prepare them properly (ie prolonged soaking in a bit of lemon juice and water). Belly doesn’t have a problem with it and neither do I.

I served 'em with plantain chips which were a BIG hit and may make it to the blog soon

I served ’em with plantain chips which were a BIG hit and may make it to the blog soon

Now can I tell you about how delicious these burgers were? They’re a bit softer than your average burger so I wouldn’t be flipping them on the BBQ or anything but they withstand a bit of frying or, like me, you can just stick them under the broiler and go wash your dog.

(that’s not code for anything, I really did give my dog a bath while these were cooking)

Jalapeno & Garbanzo Burgers (makes 4)

  • 2 cups cooked garbanzo beans
  • 1 large jalapeno, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 spring/green onions, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp mayo
  • 2 tbsps lime juice
  1. Mash the beans until a smooth paste and season well with sea salt and black pepper.
  2. Stir in the other ingredients then move the mixture to the fridge to chill for 20 minutes.
  3. Scoop out a small handful, roll into a ball then flatten to make a burger. Repeat until the mixture is all used up (this got me 4 burgers).
  4. Grill/broil for 20 minutes, turning halfway through so each side browns.

Like this? You might also like:

5 thoughts on “Jalapeno & Garbanzo Burgers

Leave a Reply

