The Only Good Thing About Halloween

I don’t really go in for Halloween. I’ve never trick or treated, I’ve never carved a pumpkin, I’ve never eaten candy corn (I’m not even sure what that is – vegetable? mineral? chemical? Stripper name?) and I don’t even like scary movies.

I believe there’s enough horror in this world without us going around manufacturing our own.

But one part of Halloween that I’m always ready to embrace is the sheer creativity on display when it comes to pet costumes.

I wouldn’t dare subject Dog to any of these (he might gnaw on my face…and who’d blame him?!), but I do absolutely commend these intrepid pet owners for going where I’m too afraid/lazy/unimaginative to go myself.

Here are some of my favourites, enjoy. And, if you’re out celebrating tonight, have a good one.

[NB: these photos are taken from all corners of the internet and I was unable to trace many of them. If you recognise a photo and want it credited please let me know and I’d be happy to do so]

this makes my heart happy

this makes my heart happy

very accurate I'd imagine

very accurate I’d imagine

he's into it, you can tell

he’s into it, you can tell

I've included this more for the expression on the cat's face than the costume

I’ve included this more for the expression on the cat’s face than the merits of the costume

it took me a minute to see the dog and not the walrus (source)

it took me a minute to see the dog and not the walrus (source)

I'm obsessed with Sleepy Hollow at the moment so this definitely caught my eye

I’m obsessed with Sleepy Hollow at the moment so this ticks all the right boxes (source)

that's one angry velociraptor

that’s one angry velociraptor

pugs, why is it always pugs with the best costumes?

pugs, why is it always pugs with the best costumes?

 

Weigh in: Do you dress your pets up for Halloween? Do they hate it, or love the attention? Which of the above is your favourite? 

11 thoughts on “The Only Good Thing About Halloween

  1. Have no pets but I agree with the principles from your post. Why, indeed, celebrate horror where there is so much gratuitous one in the world already :-).xx

  2. So cute! My local pet store had a photo shoot set up for charity with some costumes we could borrow. So naturally we had Freddie and his best canine buddy dressed up! I cannot wait to see the pic! Though it was a bit chaotic and I’m not sure how well the skunk costume was on…

Leave a Reply

