Lime & Coconut Prawn Curry

if you don't eat rice, serve over sweet potato

if you don’t eat rice, serve over sweet potato

This recipe should really be called “My Brother’s Amazing Prawn Curry”, but I was worried that was too obscure and lots of you would think: “Why should I care about this chick’s brother and his curry?”

Well, you should care. You should care loads, because this curry is one of the easiest, tastiest and fastest curries I’ve ever had.

It’s not just a meal to me either.

It’s the first recipe my brother showed me when I was starting to cook for myself (I’ve always taken my cooking tips from him because he’s a genius in the kitchen).

It’s also the first meal he cooks me when we are reunited after a long absence (sadly he’s on the other side of the world and a hole opened up in my heart the day I moved out of his apartment to go wandering).

warning- it probably will stain your utensils yellow

warning- it probably will stain your utensils yellow

It’s not just a delicious fusion of seafood, ginger, coconut, chili and lime. It’s a sibling love letter that somehow makes up for all our childhood fights, petty squabbles and moments of “MUM, MAKE HIM STOP!”

These succuluent, spicy prawns are saying that no matter what, we’re always there for each other.

Lime & Coconut Prawn Curry (serves 2)

  • 8 king prawns
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 tbsp creamed coconut
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil or ghee
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 red chili, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tbsp fresh coriander/cilantro, finely chopped
  • 1 small, white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp root ginger, peeled and finely chopped or grated
  1. Heat the ghee or oil in a frying pan. Add the garlic, chili and ginger. Let fry for a minute over a medium heat, but don’t let the garlic brown.
  2. Add the onions and tumeric, stir and let cook for 5 minutes.
  3. Toss in the prawns, season well then add the creamed coconut. Boil the water and pour on the coconut, stir. The coconut should melt into the water, creating a thick sauce.
  4. Stir in the coriander and cook until the prawns turn pink.
  5. Squeeze over the lime juice just before serving.

Like this? You might also like:

This post was also shared at Party Wave Wednesday

5 thoughts on “Lime & Coconut Prawn Curry

  1. Pingback: Lamb Korma | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

