Fennel & Parsley Stuffed Butternut Squash

it's possible I got a little too enthusiastic with the parsley garnish

it’s possible I got a little too enthusiastic with the parsley garnish

Wow, squash season came around quickly, eh?!

Yes, I measure the passing of time according to my food. In my defence, I live in the Caribbean and we don’t really get seasons – just hot, hotter-than-hell and not-so-hot.

I managed to smoosh the fennel on the trip home from the market and now my car smells of aniseed

I managed to smoosh the fennel on the trip home from the market and now my car smells of aniseed

So autumn is squash season, and instead of going for pumpkin (too mainstream for this hipster), I’m enjoying lots of butternut squash.

This particular effort features a tasty mix of fennel, shallot, garlic, parsley and toasted walnuts stuffed into the centre.

digging in

digging in

It’s the kind of meal that’s perfect for vegetarians, friends of vegetarians or relucant hosts of vegetarians.

Fennel & Parsley Stuffed Butternut Squash (serves 2)

  • 1 butternut squash, halved vertically and seeds removed
  • 1 small fennel bulb, trimmed and finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts, toasted
  • 2 tbsps parsley, very finely chopped
  • 1 shallot, finely sliced
  • 1 cl garlic, minced or finely sliced
  • 1 tbsps butter or ghee
  1. Brush each squash half with butter/ghee, season well, score the flesh with a knife and place (cut side down) on a baking tray. Roast at 400 for 45 minutes.
  2. Remove squash from oven and set aside.
  3. Heat the remaining butter or ghee in a saucepan. Add the garlic, fennel and shallot. Fry for 5 minutes until soft.
  4. Stir in the parsley and cook for another 2 minutes. Remove from heat, stir in the walnuts then scoop about 2 tbsps of the mixture into the cavity in each squash half.
  5. Place back into the oven for 10 minutes to let the flavour seep through the squash. Serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

This post was also shared at Party Wave Wednesday

12 thoughts on “Fennel & Parsley Stuffed Butternut Squash

  1. Reblogged this on Lifterly and commented:
    Wow, this looks amazing! I am so totally obsessed with this blog lately — all of these yummy carbed-up paleo friendly recipes featured lately are blowing my mind 🙂 I can’t wait to try this. I love butternut squash. MMmmmmmMmmm fall 🙂

  2. Pingback: Butternut Squash, Bacon & Goat’s Cheese Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Lemon & Fennel Stuffed Snapper | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Stuffed Shallots | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

