Blackberry & Grapefruit Limeade

I think this is what's known as a 'mocktail'

I think this is what’s known as a ‘mocktail’

I grew up in Ireland and as summer gave way to autumn my brother and I would wander the hedgerows behind our house, looking for berries that hadn’t been claimed by the birds.

We’d each fill an ice cream tub’s worth and then head home with our bounty where our mother would make them into something delicious – pie, crumble, mousse.

juicy!

juicy!

These days I’m far from home and the only thing I forage for now is coconuts.

How times change, eh?!

But blackberries still remind me of home and family and all that good stuff so when I saw them on sale (and organic!) in my local supermarket, I had to have them.

Since I’m newly off the Whole30, I’m still not ready to start baking so instead of the usual, carby, dessert, these berries went into a refreshing drink that might just convince you that it’s still summer.

your juicer will see a lot of action with this recipe

your juicer will see a lot of action with this recipe

The recipe was inspired by the beautiful 101cookbooks, but I added grapefruit and dialled back on the sugar…because I’ve never yet met a recipe I didn’t want to tweak.

You might want to add alcohol, you might not. I couldn’t possibly make that decision for you 😉

Blackberry & Grapefruit Limeade (makes just over 3 cups)

*inspired by 101 Cookbooks

  • 6 oz blackberries
  • 1 tsp lime zest
  • 1/2 cup fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 cup fresh grapefruit juice
  • 2 cups sparkling water
  • 1 tsp coconut palm sugar (or to taste, I found a tsp was plenty but you might like it sweeter)
  1. Press/mash the berries through a sieve. You should be left with about 1/2 cup of juice and some mash. Discard the pulp (or use in a smoothie if, like me, you hate waste).
  2. Stir the blackberry juice with the remaining ingredients and keep chilled until needed.

Like this? You might also like:

11 thoughts on “Blackberry & Grapefruit Limeade

    • Oh it’s not as exciting as it sounds – you get it home, you spend ten minutes wrestling with it in a bid to crack it open and enjoy the delicious juices. With a final wrench it breaks open…and it’s vile, salty and under-ripe. Coconuts are tricksy beasts.

  1. Pingback: Parsley & Ginger Juice (aka the ultimate digestive tonic) | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: PB&J Smoothie | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Cold-busting Turmeric Smoothie | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Simple Summer Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Strawberry & Mint Infused Water | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

