Goan Fish Curry

curry is my comfort food

curry is my comfort food

It’s hurricane season for those of us in the right hemisphere, and while we haven’t had any major storms yet, it’s been a wet and blustery week in my Caribbean paradise.

The frogs and the mosquitos are loving it. Me, hubs and Dog…not so much.

when you've got onion, ginger, garlic and chili together you know you're gonna have a good time

when you’ve got onion, ginger, garlic and chili together you know you’re gonna have a good time

Driving home yesterday, as the sky turned from purple to black and the heavens opened, I thought to myself: “Tonight is not a night for salad. Tonight is a night for something rich, spicy and warming.”

And so it was that this Goan curry came to pass.

creamy, flavourful, good

creamy, flavourful, good

There are so many curry recipes out there tarred with the “Goan” label that I’m not even sure if this is a true reflection of that Indian region.

But it was tasty, spicy, creamy and nourishing….and that’s good enough for me.

Goan Fish Curry (serves 2-3)

*adapted from BBC Good Food

  • 1 tbsp coconut oil or ghee
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small, white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 2 tsps coriander/cilantro
  • 1 inch chunk root ginger, peeled and grated or chopped finely
  • 2 cups coconut milk
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  • 2 green chillies, finely sliced
  • 2 pollock fillets (or any firm, white fish such as cod), cut into chunks
  1. Heat the oil or ghee in a large saucepan. Add the onion with a pinch of sea salt and fry until golden.
  2. Add the tumeric, cumin, chili, ginger, garlic and coriander. Stir and saute for a minute to let the flavours combine.
  3. Pour in the coconut milk and the lime juice and simmer for 5 minutes.
  4. Stir in the fish and cook for a further 5 minutes until cooked through. Serve.

Like this? You might also like:

17 thoughts on “Goan Fish Curry

  1. What does goan mean and where does it come in on this recipe? Also, does your coconut milk come in something other than a can? The coconut milk I have seen comes in a metal can and comes out sort of the consistency of honey and is super sweet. is this the coconut milk you’re thinking of?

    • Goa is a region of Indian…the recipe is supposed to have originated from there. I use canned coconut milk but it’s got no added sugars of any kind (it’s important to check the labels as they do try to sneak things in). It’s organic and BPA-free (Rainforest brand I think)

  2. Pingback: Sardine Nasi Goreng | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Lime & Coconut Prawn Curry | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Mussel & Coconut Broth | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Coconut Chana Saag | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Korma Chicken Casserole | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Cilantro & Garlic Tandoori Drumsticks | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Ground Beef Vindaloo | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Butter Chicken | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Coconut & Cashew Chicken Curry | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Slow Cooker Chicken Masala | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

