Avocado Oil Salad Dressing

I love it when my meal is this colourful

I love it when my meal is this colourful

Not content with eating every avocado I can get my hands on during this Whole30, I’m now enjoying their delicious oil.

Yes, if there’s a terrible avocado drought in the near future you can blame me

(and also raid my house, because I’ll probably be constructing my own avocado mountain in the back garden to ensure supplies are maintained)

you can either grate or chop your ginger. I went for chopping because grating is my least favourite kitchent task

you can either grate or chop your ginger. I went for chopping because grating is my least favourite kitchent task

Avocado oil is where the fugly avocados, the ones deemed too misshapen to make it in the stores, go to die. All those unwanted (unloved?) specimens are squeezed until they give up their tasty juices.

But they don’t undergo that torture in vain. The oil is very rich in good fatty acids and vitamin E. It’s also got a higher smoke point than olive oil, making it a good choice for frying.

healthy fats galore!

healthy fats galore!

In addition to making salad dressings, I’ve been using it in my guacamole and to marinate seafood.

Which just goes to show – an orphaned, ugly avocado can go a long way in my kitchen.

Avocado Oil Salad Dressing (makes about 1/2 cup)

  • 2 tbsps avocado oil
  • 2 tsps lemon juice
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp fresh root ginger, minced or chopped very finely
  1. Whisk all the above together. Serve over greens.

Like this? You might also like:

4 thoughts on “Avocado Oil Salad Dressing

  1. Pingback: Gutsy's Grab Bag - Week of 9/20/2013 - Gutsy By Nature

  2. Pingback: Chili Crab Avocado Boat | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: How to fight oily skin - Page 5

Leave a Reply

